Adana Twins present the very first Various Artists compilation to be released on TAU

Marking a milestone for their fledgeling label, Adana Twins present the very first Various Artists compilation to be released on TAU. ‘Spektrum’ comprises eight fresh cuts from a diverse lineup of artists representing the Twins’ community of friends and musical acquaintances. In keeping with TAU’s ethos, there are lesser-known talents side by side with more established exponents of the underground.

The VA kicks off with the Adana Twins themselves, delivering the melodrama on a cut named ‘Jumanji’. The rhythm is simple yet deadly, with a juddering low end and spinetingling synth lines. The tension builds gently until we reach a crescendo towards the end of the track. Innellea is next with ‘The Things We’ve Accomplished Together’, a dark cut underpinned by a dour atmosphere. The main riff feels familiar as it increases the pressure, rousing you into a state of ecstatic energy. Ede & John Falke take us into darkwave territory with their moody cut, which feels as though it’s come straight from eighties synth heaven. Next, we take a trip into the humid canopies of the jungle with Santiago Garcia & Speaking In Tongues. ‘Lost In A Jungle’ features a myriad of exotic sounds, tribal rhythms and percussion straight out of the Amazon. Enchanting mysticism and wild allure make this one a very special cut indeed.

Track 5 is Mulya & Sobek’s ‘Upfront Venture’, a simmering journey into the depths. A modulated low-end grumbles and snarls, increasing the tension alongside a dainty riff. Steadily building into a breakdown that will send shivers down your spine. This is followed by more tribal-inspired music, this time from Nenor & Eyal Rob who use indigenous vocal clips and organic-sounding drums to create a mesmerising composition on ‘Odehya Nbiya’. Luis Junior plays with our minds on ‘Tuning Instruments’, a playful motif forms the main body of this cut, which is twisted and warped during an epic breakdown, before we’re treated to a soothing bassline. Last up, German don Daniel Bortz takes us ‘Down To The Moon’ with an exquisite roller full of dreamy atmospherics and laid back vibes. A fitting finale to an excellent collection of music.

1. Adana Twins – Jumanji
2. Innellea – The Things We’ve Accomplished Together
3. Ede & John Falke – Chaussee
4. Santiago Garcia & Speaking In Tongues – Lost In A Jungle
5. Mulya & Sobek – Upfront Venture
6. Nenor & Eyal Rob – Odehya Nbiya
7. Luis Junior – Tuning Instruments
8. Daniel Bortz – Down To The Moon

The release date is 12th April 2019 (Vinyl/Beatport/Spotify) and 29th April 2019 all other stores.

Ian French
About the Author

Director and DJ, Ian French (Naif) is passionate about every genre of music from Breakbeat, to Drum & Bass, to Techno and Progressive House. If he was to describe his preferred style of music he would probably describe it simply as electronic music. Besides his love for music and DJing his other passions are fine cuisine, wine, and travel.