Decoded Residents Radio presents Sonic Union

Sweden’s Erik Pettersson is better known as DJ/producer Sonic Union, one half of prolific progressive house pair Bastards of Funk and Sonic Union and co founder, label owner and manager of Lowbit Records. With a DJing and production career spanning 15 years, his versatility, experience and sheer talent enables him to turn his hand from everything to producing, remixing, mastering, DJing and label management.

His technical prowess both behind the decks and the uniquely uplifting energy of his sets have to date seen him play in Europe, Japan, USA, Canada and India and hold residencies in his native Sweden and Canada. A renowned & respected producer, Erik has over 150 releases to his name to date, has remixed artists including Quivver, Jim Rivers, Cid Inc and Jamie Stevens to name just a few, and has released on lauded labels such as Anjunadeep, Replug, Sudbeat and Global Underground. 2013-2014 has seen him release originals and remixes on Mesmeric, Replug, Proton Music, Konstrukt, Dopamine Music, Sudbeat and celebrated Lowbit Records 150th release with his EP ‘Crucify Your Mind’ in collaboration with Israels Chicola.

Erik also owns and manages well established label Lowbit Records , which celebrated its milestone 150th release on 29th September 2014. With a stellar roster of artists including Cid Inc, Roland Klinkenberg, deepfunk, Guy Mantzur, Luke Porter, Marcelo Vasami, Nikko.Z, Kobana, Ben Coda and many more, Lowbit is renowned for its consistent championing of top quality underground dance music, and its releases are regularly supported by world class DJs including Hernan Cattaneo, John Digweed, Dave Seaman, Carl Cox, Above & Beyond and Nick Warren (to name just a few). With a packed DJing and production schedule plus a highly successful label and worldwide Lowbit parties to run, it’s no wonder that Erik has earned a well deserved reputation as one of the hardest working DJ/producers out there. But as the saying goes, there’s no rest for the wicked – this Swede has a lot more up his sleeve for 2015 and beyond.


Erik’s mix for Decoded Residents Radio this week is something a little special as he drops in with a stems only mix with the new traktor D2 controllers from Native Instruments.

Eriks explains some of the takeaways from recording this mix:

* Its a lot more fun DJing with stems and doing on the fly mashups.
* It requires more preparation to know what works with what well.
* It requires a lot more concentration as not only do you have 2 channels and EQ you also have 4 individual volumes & FX to manage per Stem track.

You can read a full in depth review with Decoded Magazine from Erik in the coming weeks.



01. qoob – New York [Lowbit]
02. Dark Sky – Odyssey [Monkeytown]
03. M.A.N.D.Y – Obsessed [Get Physical]
04. Dubfire feat Miss Kittin – Exit [SCI+TEC]
05. Dosem – Message [Suara]
06. Fedde Le Grand – Metrum (Umek Remix) [Toolroom]
07. Coyo – Vertigo [Suara]
08. Sian – Medicine Man [Octupus Recordings] + Martin Eyerer – Departed [Kling Klong]
09. Sam Pauli – Implications [Chapter 24]
10. Kaiserdisco – Twelve Monkeys (Harry Romero Remix) [KD Music]
11. Marc Romboy – Hypernova [Systematic]

Listen Via:

Thursday / 9pm EST (2am BST)
Thursday / 10pm BST
Friday / 7pm ART (11pm BST)
Saturday / 4pm ART (8pm BST)
Saturday / 8pm UTC (9pm BST)



About the Author

UK based former DJ and promoter, co-owner, director, writer & creative at Decoded Magazine. Studied at the University of Wolverhampton graduating in Graphic Communication & Typography (BA Hons). In house video editor and avid MMA follower with a keen ear for dark, twisted, hypnotic, tribal progressive house and techno.