Decoded Sundays Presents Searchlight

The next Decoded Sundays mix has been compiled by Searchlight who are signed to Goldie’s Fallen Tree 1Hundred label. Irish producers Cian McCann (Zero T) and Dom Purcell (Beta2) continue to build the Searchlight narrative of ‘future retro’ in the lead-up to the release of their self-titled, debut album.

The next Searchlight / [ K S R ] collaboration (track 7 on the Decoded Sundays mix) follows the recent ‘We Could Be More’,  a single that built up 200+ plays across UK radio. Key support for Searchlight has come from the likes of Gilles Peterson, Mary Anne Hobbs and Lauren Laverne on BBC 6Music with additional spot plays from Benji B, Goldie, Future Soul and the Chillest Show on BBC Radio1.

“We first met [ K S R ] at the Outlook Festival in Croatia about 5 years ago. Memories are hazy, but the connection was via Manchester’s Children of Zeus and their involvement with drum and bass artist Lenzman’s North Quarter label. Under my Zero T alias, I’d been involved with that label since its inception, so when it came to writing my ‘Baby Grand EP, [ K S R ] was the first name on the call sheet. When Dom and I started the Searchlight project for Goldie and Fallen Tree 1Hundred, we instantly knew [ K S R ]’s voice would be an essential element in crafting our sound. We’re all massive fans of neo-soul artists like Dwele, D’Angelo and Maxwell and ‘Journey’ was one of the first tracks recorded for the album, we felt no one could do the job except for him. Building the song, no real direction was required from us which was great, we just sent over the beat to him and he took it from there – and what a job he did!” – Searchlight

Cian McCann (Searchlight) shared a few words on the mix:

“When we do mixes or DJ sets we try to cover a similar range of styles that our own music reflects and to show our influences. You’ll find some of our favourite artists from the 70s and 90s included in this mix: Roy Ayres, Donald Byrd, Kool & The Gang sit alongside D’Angelo, Jill Scott and Pete Rock. There’s also some more modern soul slices from The Rebirth and Sylk130 aka King Britt. Hopefully, our own music sits comfortably amongst all these greats…”

1. Searchlight & Tolü Makay – Can We Go Back
2. Sylk130 – Gettin’ Into It
3. Roy Ayers – Cosmic Voyage
4. Donald Byrd – Wind Parade
5. 40 Degrees – Evil Vibrations
6. Sylk130 – The Reason
7. Searchlight ft. [ K S R ] – Journey
8. The Rebirth – This Journey In
9. Jill Scott – Love Rain
10. Searchlight Ft. Pav4n & Steo – Out Of Order
11. Common & D’Angelo – Ghetto Heaven
12. Pete Rock – Give It To Ya (Instrumental)
13. Black Starr – 1000 Seasons (Instrumental)
14. Visioneers – Runnin Away
15. Donald Byrd – Dominoes
16. Roy Ayers – Searching (Africa 70 Mix)
17. Searchlight ft [ K S R ] – We Could Be More
18. Beatsbyhand ft Kali Mija – Gypsy Woman
19. Kool & The Gang – Summer Madness (Live)
20. Searchlight Tt Tolü Makay – Breathe

The debut album from ‘Searchlight’ lands on Fallen Tree 1Hundred, on 2nd September 2022.

Discover more from Decoded Magazine

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

Avatar photo
About the Author

Director and DJ, Ian French (Naif) is passionate about many genres of music from Breakbeat and Drum & Bass to Techno and Electronica. A man that lives in a world of bass and beats, Ian is an obsessive collector of music and a true geek at heart, with many years spent in application design.