Dekmantel announces Selectors compilation by Young Marco

Dekmantel is honoured to present the second instalment in the Selectors Compilations-series by the ever talented Young Marco. After a successful first edition of Dekmantel Selectors and a compilation put together by Motor City Drum Ensemble, it’s Young Marco’s turn to present his unique selection of tracks on a double LP and CD, which will drop the 27th of February 2017.

Young Marco (a.k.a. Marco Sterk) certainly doesn’t come from a standard DJ background. Growing up, he was a skate rat who loved American post-hardcore and ’90s hip-hop as much as early Warp Records. Although he’s been affiliated over the years with Amsterdam institutions such as Rush Hour and Red Light Records, there’s no question that he’s always followed his own path, even when playing his favourite records meant that he was occasionally clearing dancefloors. Now, years later, Young Marco finds himself regularly playing around the globe and has been widely hailed for his digging prowess and uncanny ability to pluck jams out of genres, eras and geographies that even veteran DJs will often ignore.


With that being said, Dekmantel couldn’t resist involving Young Marco in these special compilation series. Just like the first release, the Selectors compilation is a collection of hand-picked tracks, that now are put together by Marco and represent not only how he plays music, but also how he makes music himself.

Nothing sounds overly calculated; the tunes here span several decades and include dollar-bin records, avant-garde records, club records and yes, a few things that collector types have likely been looking to get their hands on. It’s not meant to be a grand statement, as Marco would rather provide an honest snapshot of his musical tastes and share a few of his favourite tracks and artists in the process. And it must be said that Dekmantel is proud to be part of this great adventure.

Track list

A1 Danny Boy – Diskomix (Disko Version)
A2 Gerrit Hoekema – Televisiewereld
A3 Ghostwriters – Swizzle
B1 Larry Heard – Dolphin Dream
B2 Wolf Müller – Pfad Des Windes
C1 The Force Dimension – 200 FA (Extended Mix)
C2 Frank Youngwerth – Whirr (Original Mix)
C3 Greene Baize – Spick and Span
D1 Ray Tracing – Mariopaint
D2 Personal FX – Objects In Mirrors

Release date: 27th of February / Format: 2×12” LP + CD

About the Author

Loves long walks along the beach, holding hands and romantic 80's power ballads, partial to electronic music and likes to make the odd mix or two.