D’Julz to mark 10 years of his Bass Culture label with a 10 track compilation

Much like the party, D’Julz has established his Bass Culture label as one of the most respected outlets for authentic house and techno, focused squarely on the underground, designed to work the floor and give your body, mind and soul a large dose of bass-driven groove.

A go-to label for connoisseurs and a home for some of the scene’s most renowned artists Bass Culture has never wavered from its high standards. Across this compilation, the label is unleashing fresh new music from an all-star cast of core family members – artists who have been part of the label’s success from the very early days, up until now.

“When I started up the label, the idea was to bring through styles of House and Techno that I was missing. Those simple but effective, timeless dancefloor tracks that have character and style, away from the conventional.

To seek out a new generation of producers that would give a fresh interpretation of the sound I’d always pushed in my DJ career, but also to bring artists who I admired since day one, who were encapsulating the vision I had. Reflecting on Bass Culture today, I’m happy that I managed to accomplish just that. Staying relevant but true to the original concept while music trends were coming and going, continuing to find fresh talent that excites me, and invite those established artists I love. This compilation has been a long time in the making and I could not be prouder to release these tracks to mark 10 years.” – D’Julz

Franco Cinelli gets things started with a cosmic bass odyssey aptly titled ‘BC’. John Jastszebski then brings us ‘Wonder’, a smooth deep house cut with mesmerising pads and crisp percussion. Sebo K’s ‘The Scene’ a techy track with a heady atmosphere and hypnotic b-line. This one will wrap you up in its mystical vibe. ‘Haze 1997’ by Mark Ambrose uses a rugged, tribal-esque beat at its foundation, this cut is taking no prisoners.

Lady Blacktronika hits us with ‘Congrats Bitch’. Sending tremors through the dance floor, it’s a potent weapon to work the clubs with. Alex Picone adds a touch of class, as only he can, by delivering a contemplative yet punchy cut entitled ‘Melting Moon’. Chicago bossman DJ Skull delivers a funky called ‘Mood’ which blends jazz, funk and soul with the core foundations of real house music.

As you might expect, the production and energy on this Mr G’s ‘Now Is The Time!’ is utterly compelling. A moody start is peppered with a classic reggae sample as the tension slowly builds. Leo Pol steps up next with ‘Established 1991’. As the title suggests this cut has a retro-leaning outlook, conjuring up images of a warehouse rave on the outskirts of Paris in the early nineties. D’Julz closes ‘Synchronicity’ a smooth groove that wraps you up in its smoky atmosphere. Magnifique!

01. Franco Cinelli – BC
02. John Jastszebski – Wonder
03. Sebo K’s – The Scene
04. Mark Ambrose – Haze 1997
05. Lady Blacktronika – Congrats Bitch
06. Alex Picone – Melting Moon
07. DJ Skull – Mood
08. Mr G – Now Is The Time!
09. Leo Pol – Established 1991
10. D’Julz – Synchronicity

Digital & Stream: 29th November 2019
Vinyl x 3 parts: Sept / Oct / Nov

About the Author

Director and DJ, Ian French (Naif) is passionate about every genre of music from Breakbeat, to Drum & Bass, to Techno and House. A man that lives in a world of beats and bass, and total confusion about life!