Drumcode celebrate 20 years with the blue chip A-side series

Much may have changed over a two-decade period, but Drumcode’s commitment to releasing the scene’s most cutting-edge and refined techno remains resolute. With releases last year from heavy hitters such as Adam Beyer, Alan Fitzpatrick, Luigi Madonna, Jel Ford, dubspeeka and Mark Reeve, the label continues on in 2016 in much the same way; bringing fail-safe, club-ready music to the techno community.

Adam Beyer’s Drumcode juggernaut attracts more fans and critical plaudits with each passing year. Holding firm on its future-facing ethos, techno’s number one label presents a new volume in its acclaimed A-Sides series with 20 prime tracks to signify its 20th anniversary.

Such is the volume of quality music Adam Beyer receives throughout the course of the year, releasing all of it would be impossible. Enter the blue chip A-Sides series: a chance for the quality-obsessive label head to issue a collection of outstanding tracks that couldn’t fit in their regular EP release schedule.

With an eye on future talent, as much as the label’s established roster of heavy-hitters, the compilation showcases the full breadth of Drumcode’s multifaceted techno sound, equal parts inspiring and functional.

Led by the stealth techno funk of ‘Nine of You’, Beyer’s deft collaboration with Mark Reeve, the compilation takes in exciting highlights from big guns such as Alan Fitzpatrick, Dustin Zahn, Bart Skils, Pleasurekraft, Luca Agnelli, Jay Lumen, Kaiserdisco and Gary Beck.

adam beyer

The rich vein of form displayed by emerging techno talent is similarly given prime position. Rising DJ/producer Boxia makes his Drumcode debut, fresh from a well-received warm up set for the crew at the hugely successful Junction 2 festival in London, while the likes of Enrico Sangiuliano, Juan Sanchez, Ian O’Donovan and Timmo also drop fire, establishing their credentials as some of the most promising talent breaking through the ranks in 2016.

Reinforcing the global scope of the label, artists such as The Junkies from Toronto and Layton Giordani from New York, prove techno is winning a place in the heart of the new generation of artists coming out of North America.

01. Enrico Sangiuliano vs Hertz – Start Of Madness
02. Luca Agnelli – Phoenix
03. Tiger Stripes – A Feeling
04. Jay Lumen – Horizon
05. Alan Fitzpatrick – Terra Firma
06. Secret Cinema & Egbert – Maximaal
07. Juan Sanchez – Din
08. Pleasurekraft – Dopefiend
09. Adam Beyer & Mark Reeve – Nine Of You
10. Bart Skils – Voodoo Child
11. Kasierdisco – Bonkers
12. Kevin de Vries – Eternity
13. Layton Giordani – Rivington
14. Dustin Zahn – Miss You [Truncate Remix]
15. Ian O’Donovan – Crucible
16. The Junkies – Masters Of Nothing
17. Alan Fitzpatrick & Gary Beck – Sky Jacket
18. Timmo – With You
19. Boxia – Revolution
20. Marco Bailey – She Is A Player