Exclusive Premiere: Neveready – Release Me (feat. Astrid Stenberg) NexGen Music

Artist: Neveready
Title: The Forest EP
Label: NexGen Music
Release Date: EP Release Date (Via NexGen exclusively): 1st March 2019 | EP Available on Spotify and iTunes: 15th March 2019 | Pre-Order
Genre: Downtempo / Trip-Hop

DJ, producer and vocalist Neveready will be sharing his brand new track ‘Release Me ft. Astrid Stenberg’ which is lifted from his upcoming EP, “The Forest”, scheduled for release on 1st March exclusively via NexGen Music. “The Forest” is available on a limited edition 12” green vinyl. Producing music since 1992, Neveready has shaken up the underground scenes for decades with his innovative and influential genre-crossing antics, releasing music through various imprints such as Fjuu, Anti-Party Music, Monsp and Redvolume, and receiving a nomination for Debut Album of the Year at Funky Awards in Finland for his 2013 LP ‘Rejections’. Throughout the years, Neveready has also received extensive airplay on local and international stations including Sub FM, Rinse FM, Radio Helsinki, Basso Radio, Radio Lux, wherein 2015, he held a monthly radio show titled “Peaceful Rotations”.

The Finnish producer has headlined or performed at multiple standout events and festivals such as the Dubshack Party in Estonia, All Out Dubstep Party in Stockholm, Sweden, Funky Elephant Festival in Helsinki as well as Wibes and Cosmos festivals in Finland, sharing the stage with artists such as King Shiloh, Ivah Sound System, Orkidia, Dalindeo and more. Neveready is also apart of the band Fearfall along with fellow producer Jussi Nieminen, a Hip Hop and Jazz group called Organ!k with artist and percussionist Toni Nordlund, and more recently – an upcoming musical collaboration with DJ Subsense is also currently in the pipeline.

Petteri Arpiainen, better known as Neveready, grew up in Vaasa, a small city in the west coast of Finland, where he first started making beats during the early ’90s as his older brother invested in a personal computer along with the legendary Fast Tracker II music software package. Seen as a ‘forbidden’ hobby, Arpiainen would practice and further progress on making music while the family was away, proving instrumental to what Neveready has accomplished today. Neveready has covered three consecutive tours in recent years, visiting places in the Baltic region such as Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Belarus, taking his experimental electronica and trip-hop inspired resonance out of Finland.

A self-professed vinyl collector, or “crate digger”, Neveready’s early years were built upon a childhood of excessive love for music gaining influence listening to old tapes and CDs his brother had collected over the years, from Jimi Hendrix to The Doors to Metalheadz and Mobb Deep etc, while immersing himself in the then early sounds of Jungle, Drum & Bass, Trip/Hip-Hop. Influenced by a wide range of artists, bands and producers such as Nightmares on Wax, DJ Shadow, Photek and The Cinematic Orchestra – Neveready’s music has undergone many iterations in the past, it could be best compared to artists like Massive Attack, Emancipator, Jon Kennedy and Bonobo, possibly all blended together to create an innovative signature sound that is usually hard to describe, making Neveready inevitably stand out from the rest.

The first track to be shared from ‘The Forest’, Neveready’s brand new, ‘Release Me’ features angelic vocal work from the talented Astrid Stenberg (who features on 3 tracks on the EP). ‘Release Me’ is the perfect introduction for any new listeners. A calm and soothing track, the layered production creates a sense of atmospheric charm as each tiny element culminates in a textured soundscape. ‘Release Me’, conjures up images of a smoky bar in the corner of a classy lounge as you can’t help but sway along to the downtempo beat.

Speaking of ‘The Forest’ EP, Neveready explains, “I wanted to create a soundtrack for “getting lost in the forest”, for people to unwind from their busy realities. The songs are constructed and composed to sound like they are played by a band, even though most of the people involved have never met each other in the flesh. It is essentially my “imaginary” band playing what I would like it to play.”

EP Tracklist:
01. Release Me ft. Astrid Stenberg
02. Driftwood
03. Stormclouds ft. Astrid Stenberg
04. Return of the Birds ft. Charlotta Kerbs
05. Keep On Moving ft. Astrid Stenberg
06. Dust & Snowflakes ft. Charlotta Kerbs
07. Wetlands
08. Surrender ft. Charlotta Kerbs

About the author

Director and DJ, Ian French (Naif) is passionate about every genre of music from Breakbeat, to Drum & Bass, to Techno and Progressive House. If he was to describe his preferred style of music he would probably describe it simply as electronic music. Besides his love for music and DJing his other passions are fine cuisine, wine, and travel.