Exclusive Premiere: Solemn Eye – Day/Better (70HILLS)

Artist: Solemn Eye
Title: Between My Hills
Label: 70HILLS
Cat No: SH002
Release Date: 28th October 2019
Genre: Various

‘Between My Hills’ is the debut album by the cutting-edge producer Marco “Solemn Eye” Macaluso, released on his own label 70HILLS. The music on this album combines elements of Indie Dance, Down-Tempo, Alternative Pop, Deep House, Breaks, Electronica and it’s close in spirit to the 90’s avant-garde melodiousness, space-feeling, vocal expression and the overall sensibility. All of those elements converge in electrifying and captivating fashion throughout the fourteen tracks of this masterfully produced release.

The album is an exciting mixture of autobiography and fantasy, showcasing engaging lyrics and a wide range of musical skills. Discussing themes related to love, sex, trust and identity, Marco presents these songs as a confidential collection of deep emotions, each uncovered in a distinctive singing voice featuring JD Davis and Lincoln Paradox. “Between My Hills” has an outlined and through-composed form, yet it leaves plenty of room for analysis and individual understanding to serve as a topic for free musical dialogue.

01. DNA
02. Venus
03. Day/Better
04. Over (Feat. JD Davis)
05. Electronic Romance (Feat. Lincoln Paradox)
06. Between My Hills
07. Archetype
08. Interstellar
09. Carte Blanche
10. Sorrow
11. Lady
12. Believe
13. Sign
14. Idyll

About the Author

Director and DJ, Ian French (Naif) is passionate about every genre of music from Breakbeat, to Drum & Bass, to Techno and House. A man that lives in a world of beats and bass, and total confusion about life!