Freestylers new LP ‘Other Worlds’ is set to land in August!

Perhaps needed now more than ever, industry heavyweights Freestylers are stepping up to the plate with brand new sounds that destroy genre boundaries and offer a strobing light at the end of the tunnel that is 2021. Their sixth studio album ‘Other Worlds’ is set for release on the 20th of August, with the next single ‘Fabulous’ landing on the 11th of June.

Initially created for big-room, festival-worthy summer touring, this early-rave inspired anthemic track will still have you dancing around your living room. It’s a great shame we can’t hear ‘Happiness’ live, but hopefully, it keeps spirits alive that one day we will dance together again. The no-nonsense breakbeat, vocal triumph has still gained huge momentum though and has proved a firm fan favourite in the duo’s lockdown Livestream sets – as well as gaining support from some of the biggest names in the business, including the likes of Krafty Kuts and Rat Pack to name a few.

Following on from the opening single, ‘Other Worlds’ delves into a mishmash of drum and bass, hip-hop, electronica, dub, breakbeat and everything in between. It also showcases incredible talent from across the globe, including Plump DJs, Blapps Posse, Laura Steel, Spyda, Tenor Fly, Hyperactive MC, Mad Doctor X, K-OSS and Scarlett Quinn, whose vocals feature on the grooving next single, ‘Fabulous’.

“We were feeling nostalgic, so went back to our roots bringing what we think is the new sound of the old school.” – Freestylers

The Freestylers have had a career that most could only dream of, having earnt their place as one of Britain’s most revered dance acts of all time and selling over a million records since their creation. Since forming in 1996 when DJs and dance music producers Matt Cantor, Aston Harvey joined forces. Both of them had been pivotal figures in British dance music scene since the early 1990s. Cantor had recorded both as Cut & Paste and Strike with Andy Gardner (Plump DJs). Aston Harvey recorded as Blapps Posse, best known for their 1990 breakbeat seminal rave classic ‘Don’t Hold Back’ before working with Definition of Sound, Rebel MC and DJ Rap (as DJ Rap and Aston).

Following on from this was the iconic debut album ‘We Rock Hard’, a delightfully pungent collection of sonic anthems that have passed the test of time, an album filled with dance floor satisfaction. Their singles have also stood the test of time, in fact, ‘Cracks’ has over 30 million streams and counting. In their 24 years as a band, Freestylers have developed a burgeoning reputation as being discerning crate diggers, you can hear the wide breadth of their record collections through their eclectic body of work. It’s no surprise that they’ve reached top 40 in the UK and went to number 1 in Holland, Belgium and Australia with their hit “Push Up” and also not forgetting the huge collaboration with Pendulum “Fasten Your Seatbelts”.

Their iconic live band performances and legendary DJ sets have seen them tour and play at many of the well known festivals, events and venues on a global scale over the years including Glastonbury, V Festival, Reading & Leeds, Big Day Out 2005, EDC, Fabric, Ministry Of Sound, Brixton Academy, Weenie Roast, Heineken Music Hall with The Prodigy, Lowlands, Exit, Sziget Festival & The American Woman tour with Lenny Kravitz to name a few.

They’ve been sort after for remix duties from Audioweb, The Jungle Brothers to Aphrodite and for many DJ mix compilations – FUSK2, Fabric Live 19 (which is still one of their best sellers to date) and a BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix.

01. I Am Ft Plump DJs
02. Waiting
03. Electroshock
04. Black & Blue Ft Blapps Posse & Laura Steel
05. Fabulous Ft Scarlett Quinn
06. International Love
07. My Sound Ft Spyda
08. All Your Fears Ft Scarlett Quinn
09. Reality Check Ft Tenor Fly
10. Action Jackson Ft Hyperactive MC
11. Happiness
12. Puffin Da Herb Ft Mad Doctor X
13. Unreal
14. Rebel Lion Ft K-OSS

You can listen to the single ‘Happiness’ here.

Discover more from Decoded Magazine

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Avatar photo
About the Author

Director and DJ, Ian French (Naif) is passionate about many genres of music from Breakbeat and Drum & Bass to Techno and Electronica. A man that lives in a world of bass and beats, Ian is an obsessive collector of music and a true geek at heart, with many years spent in application design.