Gilles Peterson & Arc Records announce first ever vinyl release of Roberta Flack “Lost Takes”

DJ, producer and label owner Gilles Peterson continues his exploration into the Warner archives with the release of Lost Takes, a twelve-track album featuring a collection of demos recorded six months prior to Roberta Flack’s debut album First Takes. The tracks were released on CD in 2020 and are made available here on vinyl for the very first time. Set for release on January 12th 2024 via Peterson’s Arc Records imprint, the album features Flack’s inimitable take on songs including Mongo Santamaria’s ‘Afro Blue’, Motown classic ‘Ain’t No Mountain High Enough’ and My Fair Lady’s ‘On The Street Where You Live’.

Gilles Peterson:

“Roberta is a true visionary and one of the great singers of modern times. Imagine the excitement when I saw she had recorded a version of ‘Afro Blue’ during her demo sessions for First Take. I knew straight away that it was a project we wanted to release via Arc Records and to make available on vinyl for the very first time. We’re thrilled to be releasing this and can’t wait for everyone to hear it.”

A four-time Grammy Award winner, Roberta Flack first rose to fame following the release of her 1969 debut album First Take which received widespread international acclaim. She went on to record a string of seminal, chart-topping tracks including ‘Killing Me Softly with His Song’ and ‘Feel Like Makin Love’. 

Pre-order here


1. This Could Be The Start of Something

2. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out

3. Hush-A-Bye

4. Afro Blue

5. It’s Way Past Suppertime

6. On The Street Where You Live

7. Frankie And Johnny

8. The House Song

9. Ain’t No Mountain High Enough

10. The Song Is Love

11. To Sir With Love

12. Groove Me