Global Underground reveals tracklisting for GU41 Naples- James Lavelle Presents UNKLE Sounds

Global Underground’s iconic series of DJ mix albums from the likes of Sasha, Solomun, Carl Cox, and many more, helped define electronic music culture from the mid 1990s onwards and symbolised the explosion of international dance music. Featuring beautifully shot photography and extensive sleevenotes, the album releases have become collectors’ items, with many currently exchanged for significant sums online.

The GU ‘Cities’ series was the first to put DJs on album covers and helped propel many of those featured to international acclaim. Global Underground also broke new ground by visiting worldwide destinations and putting a spotlight on their nascent club scenes, at a time when international dance music was pocketed across a handful of territories.

Global Underground’s high-profile media campaigns reached beyond international dance media, and the label were the first to get DJs like John Digweed into the Los Angeles Times, or Sasha into the UK edition of The Times. Global Underground’s first DVD featured over two hours of international footage, including a documentary filmed for UK TV’s Channel 4 (broadcast on Showtime in the US) that reached over 2 million viewers when it was originally broadcast in 2000.

On his GU41 Naples- James Lavelle Presents UNKLE Sounds, Lavelle has reinterpreted almost all of the album tracks, having taken the original parts into the studio and remixed and re-edited them into exclusive versions for this release. Alongside new UNKLE material, the album features Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds, Lana Del Rey, Luciano, Ian Brown, Queens of the Stone Age, Elliott Power, and Mark Lanegan Band through to London Grammar, Planet Funk and beyond.


01 UNKLE – Erebus feat. Michèle Lamy and Emilíana Torrini
02 UNKLE – Eye For An Eye
03 Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – AKA… What A Life! (UNKLE Rework)
04 Queens of the Stone Age – I Appear Missing (UNKLE Remix)
05 Mark Lanegan Band – The Killing Season (UNKLE Remix)
06 Elliott Power – Sword Souls (UNKLE Remix)
07 Jamie Woon – Lady Luck
08 HÆLOS – Dust (UNKLE Remix)
09 UNKLE – Bloodstain feat. Alice Temple
10 Therr Maitz – Feeling Good Tonight (UNKLE Reconstruction)
11 London Grammar – Hey Now (UNKLE Remix)
12 Queens of the Stone Age – …Like Clockwork (UNKLE Remix)
13 UNKLE – Touch Me feat. Leila Moss
14 UNKLE – Rabbit In Your Headlights

01 Lana Del Rey – Ride (James Lavelle Remix – Lyla’s Surprise)
02 The Naked And Famous – The Sun
03 ESKA – This Is How A Garden Grows (UNKLE Reconstruction)
04 Elliott Power – On The Windrush (UNKLE Reconstruction)
05 UNKLE – The Answer feat. Big In Japan (Baltimore) (Trentemøller Remix)
06 UNKLE – Reign feat. Ian Brown
07 Queens of the Stone Age – No One Knows
08 UNKLE – Money and Run feat. Nick Cave (16 Bit Lolitas Remix)
09 UNKLE – With You In My Head feat. Leila Moss (UNKLE/Redux Reconstruction)
UNKLE – Follow Me Down feat. Sleepy Sun
UNKLE – Heavy Drug
10 Four Tet – Angel Echoes (Caribou Remix)
11 Jagwar Ma – Come Save Me (The Pachanga Boys’ Jagwar Pawar Version)
12 Luciano – Rise Of Angel
13 UNKLE – Burn My Shadow feat. Ian Astbury
14 UNKLE – Heaven (Charlie May Remix)
15 Planet Funk – Two Lost Souls (UNKLE Remix)
16 UNKLE – In a State feat. Leila Moss (UNKLE/Redux Reconstruction)

The mix album will be available in GU’s new ‘Super-Deluxe DJ Mix Package’ format – a world first – alongside traditional physical and digital formats.

The ‘Super Deluxe’ Collector’s package will include a 112 Page “Napoli Travelogue” Hard Back Travel Book featuring the stunning photography of Dean Belcher, alongside the ‘Deluxe’ version of the CD, a collection of Travel Postcards, all enclosed in a bespoke Red GU Box.

unnamed (3)

The latest instalment of GU’s Electric Calm series has just been released. The relaunched website offers a direct to fan retail platform, offering all current releases and a new range of exclusive GU Merchandise.

About the Author

Loves long walks along the beach, holding hands and romantic 80's power ballads, partial to electronic music and likes to make the odd mix or two.