Goldie announces new Subjective album and single, ‘Sunlight’ with Lady Blackbird

Subjective, made up of DJ and producer Goldie and revered engineer and producer James Davidson, announces their upcoming brand new album ‘The Start of No Regret’, to be released on March 25th by Three Six Zero Recordings/Sony Music. Pre-order/pre-save HERE

The upcoming new album from the duo spans genres and weaves its way in and out of drum & bass, techno, electronica and soul music, stitching tapestries together to create a soundtrack that would feel as at home in the club as it would vibrating through solitary headphones. The record, which features some incredibly exciting and varied names including neo soul up and comer Greentea Peng, south London alt-jazz hero Tom Misch, and British blues and soul vocalist Natalie Duncan, shows off both the rich history and calibre of Goldie and James Davidson individually but also how they can create something together that’s so cohesive and forward thinking. The sound the duo have been able to create is also partly due to their geographical locations over the past 18 months, bouncing ideas between Davidson’s studio in Bournemouth on the south coast and Goldie’s house in Phuket, Thailand; showing two songwriters and producers at the top of their game responding to a year and a half in very different atmospheres but similar trying circumstances.

 “I really love the way that this album time travels through so many poignant aspects of mine and James’ life through rave culture, jungle, drum & bass and indie influences over the last 20 years. I’m super happy with it and I hope that you will be too.” – Goldie

‘Sunlight’, the second track to be taken from the album and featuring widely lauded jazz-soul vocalist Lady Blackbird, takes her sweeping vocal and lays it across delicate piano melodies and distorted drum & bass loops, creating a soundscape that feels ethereal as much as it does fast-paced and frenetic – watch the visualiser here. The lead single from the album ‘Dassai Menace’ (released with double A-side ‘Fathoms’), a pulsing, pushing instrumental which throbs with a unique club energy, was picked up by Virgil Abloh who used it to soundtrack his Louis Vuitton SS22 fashion film ‘Amen Break’ (watch here), with Goldie walking in the accompanying catwalk show.

‘The Start of No Regret’ will be available on all digital platforms, as well as CD and double vinyl. Pre-order HERE

Full tracklist:
01. The Start of No Regret
02. Lost feat. Tom Misch and Frida Touray
03. Brushstrokes feat. Cleveland Watkiss
04. Dassai Menace
05. American Gods feat. Natalie Duncan
06. Azimuth
07. Crazy feat. Natalie Williams
08. Breakout feat. LaMeduza
09. Paradise feat. LaMeduza
10. Dark feat. Greentea Peng
11. Reflection
12. Sunlight feat. Lady Blackbird
13. Dollis Hill Rufige
14. Yoshi’s Highway feat. Lady Blackbird

Discover more from Decoded Magazine

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Avatar photo
About the Author

Director and DJ, Ian French (Naif) is passionate about many genres of music from Breakbeat and Drum & Bass to Techno and Electronica. A man that lives in a world of bass and beats, Ian is an obsessive collector of music and a true geek at heart, with many years spent in application design.