Uber creative progressive house artist Jay Lumen tells us a few (lost) tales

Artist: Jay Lumen
Album: Lost Tales (Album)
Label: Footwork
Release : Out Now!
Genre: Techno

With a career spanning 10 years, Jay Lumen is certainly no alien to the dance music scene. Back in the early days of his career, he set upon us some uber-creative, melodious and well thought out progressive house. With releases on the ever popular Baroque label as well as the mighty Lost Language, Armada and Anjunabeats, it was clear to see from the start that Hungarian-born Jay Lumen was destined for big things.

Fast forward to the present day and with a legion of tracks and releases under his belt, Jay has carved out a different sound. Leaving behind the progressive house he was known for, he has immersed himself in a world of techno, not a million miles from the likes of Adam Beyer, Nicole Moudaber and Joseph Capriati. This new album, on his own label Footwork, proves that his change has been a successful one.

79 minutes of techno, ranging from the deeper sounds to tech house, this is pure, unblemished underground sounds, with none of the frilly bits around the edges. If there’s one thing Jay Lumen is good at, it’s the minor details, the elements that make up both his original works and his remix productions. From the get-go here, ‘Pulsar’ sets the tone nicely for what’s to come on the rest of the album. A pounding kick drum and a plethora of bass heavy effects and a rumbling undercurrent will leave your brain shaking and undoubtedly, your entire body. Following on from Pulsar, ‘System’ follows in similar style. The title track, ‘Lost Tales’ incorporates a more melodic side, which undeniably harks back to his progressive house days. ‘Old Machines’ and ‘Passion 303’ are probably the hardest edged tracks on the album, which certainly wouldn’t go a miss in a Carl Cox set, incorporating more savage and raw basswork to sit nicely behind the already established theme of unrelenting beats and robotic sound effects.

If it’s something a bit slower and deeper you’re looking for, Jay has catered for you too! ‘I Am’ chugs along nicely with a beautiful, dreamy harmony, with a ghostly female vocal snippet. A haunting dreamy lead synth adds extra dimensions and atmosphere to the track. But underneath the familiar sounds of that pounding kickdrum is still present. Another fine example of the diversity of Lumen’s production skills is the track titled ‘Azure’, which again features a chuggy bass driven beat and a swirling, heavenly, harmonious soundscape. The lead melody, which sounds as though it’s been played through a broken saxophone, is a significant reminder that music doesn’t have to be complicated to be effective. ‘Azure’ is a single representation of the term “the beauty of the simple.”

Of course, all good things must come to an end and I feel I must say something about the closing track. A heart-wrenchingly beautiful outro just sums up the whole feeling of this entire 11 tracker. Creative, warm, effortless, ambient and cinematic. Just some of the superlatives that instantly pop into my head when listening to this one. ‘Outer Space’ is the title and it certainly makes you feel that way, definitely makes you want to close your eyes and drift away into another world, another place, far away from the troubles and struggles of real life. Jay Lumen unquestionably delivers here, an album that will constantly be on repeat in my house, not just for months, but for years to come. Hats off Sir!

01. Pulsar
02. System
03. Lost Tales
04. Old Machines
05. I Am
06. Passion 303
07. Quiet Storm
08. Azure
09. Black Stabs
10. Fallen Angels (Instrumental Mix)
11. Outer Space (End Title)