Jeff Mills x ‘Sight Sound And Space’ compilation

Sight, sound, and space are deeply rooted in the work of Jeff Mills. But what do these three quintessential elements mean? Is it possible to describe to someone what it is like to see for the first time, or to listen to music in a new way, or to travel throughout the galaxy without having to break through the earth’s atmosphere? The man from the moon has deep-seated thoughts about these concepts and explains them through this massive compilation, Sight, Sound and Space. The project has Mills diving into his extensive catalog and selecting tracks which epitomize his feelings on each.

Sight is a beautiful faculty bestowed upon the human race. Mills wants his music to draw the correlation between sight and sound. In this opening part, we see him select tracks which often soundtrack classical sci-fi films, in which what we experience is the embodiment of all three: sight, sound, and space. As in with opening track ‘perfecture’, composed for Fritz Langs’ Metropolis, where the track is to accentuate the perfection of the futuristic buildings

John Coltrane used to deconstruct music when he listened to it, listening to each aspect individually to absorb and appreciate it completely. Repetition, or the lack of it, is often at the heart of listening to music: it helps us understand its structure. An understanding of sound aids us in reaching into the realm of music which encapsulates things or experiences, and electronic music is the perfect tool for exploring these possibilities. Tracks like ‘Microbe’ exude this point, with layered beats each with their own meaning and direction which make a tantalizing cut.

Space is one of the pinnacles of Mills’ interests. The similarities between it and techno are remarkable, the more we find out about each, the more possibilities they reveal. ‘One Man Spaceship’ was constructed to give the listener the experience of navigating through the cosmos. A track that showcases the width and breadth of electronic music, that it is not just for dancing, but which can be immersive and imagination inducing.

Perpetuated here is electronic music as a guide. Space may frighten us as this gigantic continuum that is detached from us, but we must remember we are part of it. Being a miracle of life within this vast valley of infinite proportions, it is important to embrace what we have, to listen like Coltrane or to see with music. In broadening our horizons, we can truly see and hear what lay in front and beyond us.

Sight, Sound and Space will be released on October 4th via Jeff Mills own Axis label. It is another installment in his The Director’s Cut series.

Label: Axis Records
Release date: October 4th
Format: 3 CD


• CD 1

Title: Sight

A compilation of selected tracks that refer to compositions created for films, moving images or inspired watching something.

1. Perfecture – taken from “Metropolis” CD
2. Deckard – taken from “Blade Runner” EP
3. Le Mer Et C’est Un Caractere – taken from “Sequence” CD
4. Homing Device – taken from “2087” CD album
5. The Never Ending Study – taken from “Etudes Sur Paris” album
6. The Drive Home – taken from “Woman In The Moon”
7. Parallelism In Fate – taken from “And Then There Was Light” film soundtrack
8. Devices taken from “At First Sight “ CD
9. Transformation B (Rotwang’s Revenge) – taken from “Metropolis” CD album
10. Sleepy Time – taken from “Trip To The Moon” CD album
11. Multi-Dimensional – taken from “Man From Tomorrow” film soundtrack
12. Descending Eiffel Stairs – taken from “The Crazy Ray” film soundtrack

• CD 2

Title: Sound

A compilation of selected tracks that have a unique and specific type of sound to them.

1. The Hunter – taken from “Free Fall Galaxy” Album.
2. The Bells
3. 4Art
4. The 25th Hour – unreleased
5. Growth
6. Spiral Galaxy
7. Microbe – taken from “The Power” CD
8. Jade – taken from “Every Dog Has Its Day Vol. 2”
9. Where The Shadows Have Motives – taken from the Rembrandt Experience soundtrack.
10. Flying Machines – taken from “Sequence” CD compilation
11. Compression-Release – taken from “Emerging Crystal Universe”
12. Into The Body – taken from “Fantastic Voyage” Soundtrack
13. The Resolution – taken from “Actual” 12” EP (2)
14. Spiral Therapy – taken from “The Power” CD

• Booket

Title: And

This epic compilation contains a large booklet of 50 pages in which Jeff Mills wrote his own commentaries and stories behind each tracks he carefully selected.

• CD 3

Title: Space

A compilation of selected tracks that are related to Outer or Inner Space, Space Travel and or any celestial body or life form or entity.

1. Introduction – Phase 1-3 taken from “Fantastic Voyage” soundtrack
2. Mercury (Residue Mix) – Unreleased – taken from “Planets” CD
3. Unreleased002
4. Unreleased003
5. The Industry Of Dreams – taken from “The Messenger” CD
6. Stabilizing The Spin – taken from “Moon: The Area Of Influence” CD
7. G-Star
8. Planet X – taken from “Lost In Space” 12” EP
9. The Worker’s Party – taken from Gamma Player Compilation “Niteroi’ collaboration project
10. Daphnis (Keeler’s Gap) – taken from “X-102 Re-discovers The Rings Of Saturn”
11. Outer Space – Unreleased
12. Unreleased005
13. Self-Portrait taken from “One Man Spaceship” CD
14. Aitken Basin – taken from “The Messenger” CD
15. Deadly Rays (Of A Hot White Sun) – taken from “Where Light Ends” CD
16. Medians – taken from “Free Fall Galaxy” album

About the Author

Loves long walks along the beach, holding hands and romantic 80's power ballads, partial to electronic music and likes to make the odd mix or two.