Karl Hyde (UNDERWORLD) and Skin (Skunk Anansie) back new UK project Jet-G

Image credit: Rachel Anthea Sherlock

Electronic London-based quartet Jet-G will be releasing their latest atmospheric single, ‘Keep Me Waiting’ on the 19th of November via Future London. Jet-G is the acronym & collaboration between electronic producers Jolliffe, female vocalist ECKOES, Modestep’s founding member Tony Terror and GENTRY. The single is preceded by Give Me Air as well as their debut single, ‘Heartbeat’, a collaboration with the Japanese drumming troupe KODO and Resident Advisor, which appears on a compilation album alongside SKREAM, Simian Mobile Disco and Rufus Wainwright. The quartet have been supported by BBC Radio London’s Jess Iszatt as well as Metal Magazine and Stereofox.

Jolliffe is an esteemed music engineer, musical director and producer, working with some of the biggest artists in the world. Independently, he has received airplay from BBC 1Xtra, BBC Introducing, Kiss FM and Rinse FM while as part of the iconic band The King Blues, he earned consistent support from BBC Radio 1. Jolliffe and Terror have become known for their back to back DJ sets, twice seen at London’s legendary Fabric. As part of the Heritage Orchestra, GENTRY has performed in arenas around the world, most notably with Pete Tong as well as playing regularly with Quincy Jones and acting as a writer, performer and producer with Damian Lazarus. Solo artist ECKOES toured the UK and Europe after her debut release on German Label Absent Minds began to draw press attention from the likes of Wonderland and Clash Magazine, as well as support from BBC 6 Music.

On an epic journey to capture the zeitgeist of London, Jet-G find inspiration in the likes of Portishead, Hans Zimmer, Massive Attack, Bjork. The broad backgrounds of each artist involved paired with forward-thinking production and writing styles means that their sound calls to mind a unique mix of the vocal stylings of Bjork and London Grammar and the production stylings of Portishead and Aphex Twin. The quartet is comprised of Jolliffe (on synth, programming and production), ECKOES (on vocals and production), GENTRY (on Piano, synth and programming) as well as Terror (on synth, programming and production). 

Take a slow breath in and hold it: allow the basslines of ‘Keep Me Waiting’ to reverberate throughout your chest as the anticipation builds. Dramatic and unnerving and yet gently caressing, Jet-G take layer upon layer of carefully crafted sound, creating an unmistakable atmosphere that marks itself as one for centuries to come.

ECKOES of Jet-G tells us about the concept behind the single, “Our latest song is about how it must feel to lose your unborn child alone in a hospital bed. To be told there’s no heartbeat but you can hear life as normal continuing outside. She’s singing to her child that will come, the one that keeps her waiting.”

Download / Stream here

About the Author

Loves long walks along the beach, holding hands and romantic 80's power ballads, partial to electronic music and likes to make the odd mix or two.