Kerri Chandler delivers a truly sublime mix for the DJ Kicks series on !K7

Artist: Various Artists
Title: Kerri Chandler DJ Kicks
Label: !K7
Release: Out Now!
Genre: Funk / Jazz / House

Superstar Kerri Chandler brings us a sublime mix this October on the veteran label !K7 that truly reflects the artist’s incredible creativity and ability to manipulate records in a way that not many others can. This mix has been described by Kerri as “like me taking you for a walk in New York.” It’s certainly easy to see why he would choose to explain this mix in such a way. A combination of hip-hop, soulful, jazz, disco and more take us through the musical age of the great city of New York, a city that has given the music industry so much over the years.

Kerri gets the mix underway with some nice laid back vibes in the form of Leroy Houston’s ‘Cool Out’. Setting the tone, Kerri puts us into a relaxed, tranquil state- ready to join him on his adventure. We are then hit with a dose of pure funk in Rasa’s ‘When Will The Day Come’. Kerri certainly has our attention. The Foreign Exchange’s ‘Body’ creates an aura of nostalgia. The plucking bassline and retro synths keep the mix building and increasing in energy with each passing moment.

The mix breaks down into an instrumental version of Fantasy Three’s ‘It’s Your Rock’ and the adventure takes a turn down hip-hop heritage lane before we head off to a funky jazz bar, sip some cocktails and become entranced in Soulful Session’s ‘All I Need’ featuring the mesmerizing vocals of Tasha Monique.

We head through the New York underground to the theme tune of James Mason’s ‘Sweet Power Your Embrace’ and we are riddled with chorused guitars and splendid melodics. Kerri leads the way as we head into a side street draped in the reggae sound that has inspired millions all around the world for decades. Cymande’s ‘Getting It Back’ commences the journey back home before Kiki Willow’s takes us into the late night with 3 am.

Roy Ayer’s ‘Liquid Love’ finishes up the mix and leaves off how the mix began, with pure tranquility, pure relaxation and joy. It’s mixes like this that make you really appreciate music from all over the world. It’s a mix that tells the story of the origins of electronic music. The origins of the musical underground of today were born from mixes like this. An incredibly detailed and well thought out adventure conducted by one of the forefathers of House music. As Kerri takes off his conductor’s hat and walks the opposite way, the sorrow we have to have finished this adventure is only overcome when we realise, we can relive all of Kerri’s journey’s over and over again through his music.

CD Tracklist:
01. Intro
02. LeRoy Hutson – Cool Out
03. New York Streets
04. Rasa – When Will The Day Come
05. The Foreign Exchange – Body
06. Fantasy Three – It’s Your Rock (Instrumental)
07. T La Rock – It’s Yours
08. André Ceccarelli – Stock No.1
09. Soulful Session – All I Need feat. Tisha Monique (Demo Boogie Version)
10. Beckie Bell – Music Madness (Extended Charles Maurice Version)
11. Uptown Funk Empire – You’ve Got to Have Freedom
12. Segway City 2
13. James Mason – Sweet Power Of Your Embrace
14. Segway City 3
15. Fruit – If You Feel It, Say Yeah
16. Kerri Chandler – Stop Wasting My Time (DJ-Kicks)
17. Sylvia Striplin – You Can’t Turn Me Away
18. Innerzone Orchestra – People Make The World Go Round
19. Cymande – Getting It Back
20. Kiki Willows – 3 AM
21. Roy Ayers – Liquid Love

LP Tracklist:
A1. André Ceccarelli – Stock No.1
A2. Kerri Chandler – Stop Wasting My Time (DJ-Kicks)
A3. Innerzone Orchestra – People Make The World Go Round
B1. Rasa – When Will The Day Come
B2. Lesette Wilson – Look Into Tomorrow
B3. Cymande – Getting It Back
C1. Sylvia Striplin – You Can’t Turn Me Away
C2. Uptown Funk Empire – You’ve Got to Have Freedom
C3. James Mason – Sweet Power Of Your Embrace
D1. Roy Ayers – Liquid Love
D2. Ethel Beatty – It’s Your Love
D3. Fantasy Three – It’s Your Rock (Instrumental)

About the Author

As a producer himself, signed to some of the UK’s top Techno & Tech House labels, including Baroque, Under No Illusion and Pro-B-Tech, Danny, better known as Ferher is no stranger to the underground. He has DJ’d at some of the best venues in the UK and is eager to share his passion for house music with everyone.