LEISURE releases anticipated new album ‘Sunsetter’

Credit: Nicole Brannen

New Zealand five-piece LEISURE have unveiled their long-awaited third studio album Sunsetter, out 3rd December on Nettwerk.

Made up with new tracks and a few singles taken from their recent EPs ‘Side A’ and ‘Side B’, Sunsetter is a vivid snapshot of where the LEISURE sound is at. Things kick off with single ‘Slipping Away’, a delicate, weightless track that sets the tone. Then there is ‘Lonely Nights’, a track inspired by Japanese city pop and The Bee Gees, the similarly sensual ‘Eye 2 Eye’, the downbeat, psychedelic guitars of ‘Spark It Up’ and intimate nuances of ‘Beautiful’. Then lastly comes the reflective ‘Dipping & Diving’ and wistful ‘Be With You’.

The final five tracks on the LP are those that make up ‘Side B’. ‘Take You Higher’ taps into the irresistibly smooth LEISURE sound, ‘Mesmerised’ is an electronica-infused track that packs a seductive and powerful sound, the roove-laden, ‘Flipside’ hits with hypnotic guitars and enchanting synths, while ‘Visions of You’ is a endearing guitar-driven jam. Closing things out, ‘Miles Away’ styles a jazzier and lounge sensibility.

“After a slightly darker edge to our second album Twister, the next phase of our LEISURE journey began with a new sunrise, a fresh light which gave us clarity as a group on how we wanted to move forward,” LEISURE explain. “We refocused on what was important to us, traveled our country and beyond, started families and became closer friends. New ideas began with excitement and freedom, there had been a weight lifted.”

They continue: “As the world threw its challenges, we decided to release the record in phases as we were creating it, SIDE A and SIDE B were shared in real time. Now as we bring them together with these extra songs, the sun sets on what has been an incredible journey. Once again we feel proud of what we have created and are even more excited for what lies ahead.”

Forming in 2015 during a spontaneous trip up to New Zealand’s west coast, LEISURE quickly gained attention with their self-titled debut album. Released in 2016, LEISURE peaked at #2 in the NZ charts and received worldwide critical acclaim. The album also included a notable collaboration, ‘Nobody’, with US rapper GoldLink.

This preceded 2019 sophomore album TWISTER, and a successful European tour soon followed, which included sold-out dates in London and Berlin alongside a debut double performance at Brighton festival The Great Escape. They then dropped EPs ‘Side A’ and ‘Side B’ in 2020 and 2021 respectively.

A stunning collection of tracks, Sunsetter captures the essence of the LEISURE sound.

LEISURE – Sunsetter Tracklist

1. Slipping Away

2. Lonely Nights

3. Eye 2 Eye

4. Spark It Up

5. Beautiful

6. Dipping and Diving

7. Be With You

8. Take You Higher

9. Mesmerised

10. Flipside

11. Visions Of You

12. Miles Away

Discover more from Decoded Magazine

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Avatar photo
About the Author

Loves long walks along the beach, holding hands and romantic 80's power ballads, partial to electronic music and likes to make the odd mix or two.