Maksim Dark set to deliver his sixth studio album on Oliver Huntemann’s Senso Sounds label

Maksim Dark has established himself as a prolific powerhouse on the scene over the past decade, his instantly recognisable style being picked up and celebrated by some of the top names in the game. The Russian producer burst into people’s consciousness in 2011, winning the ear of techno royalty like Richie Hawtin and Dubfire. Having released five albums (Alkapones in 2011, Mechanica in 2012, With Bated Breath in 2013, My Time Is Fire in 2014, Unbroken in 2015) – plus countless singles and remix projects – he’s back with what is perhaps his most accomplished work to date.

‘Insomnia’ contains 13 tracks of the talented Russian’s signature sound; tough, shadowy techno that grooves hard and is shot through with attitude and style. From opener ‘Dominator’ through to Dark’s personal favourite ‘Globalize’ and other highlights such as the LP’s lead single ‘Loud Rave’ and brooding closing track ‘Noah’, this long-player could be one of Dark’s epic sets behind the decks. There’s a linearity to the journey and each track seems to complement the other. Drums hit hard, pitched-down vocals add the edge, and his beautifully designed laser-sharp synths cut through everything creating the ultimate soundtrack to the nights we want never to end.

‘Insomnia’ will be available via Senso Sounds on 25th June 2021. Pre-order here.

01. Dominator
02. Arpotron
03. Bounce Bass
04. Fortunate
05. Globalize
06. Insomnia
07. Loud Rave
08. Stormind
09. Nyctophilia
10. Disconnect
11. Radar
12. Shaker Partymaker
13. Noah

About the Author

Director and DJ, Ian French (Naif) is passionate about every genre of music from Breakbeat, to Drum & Bass, to Techno and House. A man that lives in a world of beats and bass, and total confusion about life!