Marcel Dettman next up for Dekmantel’s Selectors compilation

Dekmantel is pleased to announce a new Dekmantel Selectors compilation by techno stalwart Marcel Dettmann. Following celebrated compilations from Motor City Drum Ensemble and Young Marco – and with the second edition of its limited- capacity festival in Croatia right around the corner – Dettmann’s compilation promises to showcase another side of the praised DJ.

Even Dettmann – who is well-known for being one of the most celebrated techno artists nowadays – had to start his musical journey somewhere. Long before Dettmann ever held court at Berghain (or its predecessor, Ostgut), he was just another young boy in Eastern Germany, whose earliest encounters with capitalism involved spending every penny he could scrape together down at the local record shop. In those days, it wasn’t techno that got him excited, but new wave, post-punk, industrial and EBM acts like Front 242 and Depeche Mode was what shaped him.

“It’s music from my childhood,” says Dettmann. “It’s still relevant and still inspires me.”

That inspiration can be heard across his Dekmantel Selectors release, as Dettmann has put together what he describes as a “pre-techno compilation.” Much like the previous Selectors editions, the compilation is not a mix CD, but a collection of tracks hand-picked by Dettmann from his own vinyl archives. Freshly remastered and occasionally reworked or re-edited by Dettmann himself such as Cabaret Voltaire’s “Low Cool” and A Thunder Orchestra’s “Diabolical Gesture” – the songs here are undoubtedly vintage gems, but they also represent a very personal journey into Dettmann’s past. “It was a great opportunity to dig deeper into my own musical outlook,” he explains. “The tracks come from a time before I became a DJ.” Simply put, the songs here are some of the building blocks upon which he’s built an incredibly storied career, and now he’d like to entrust them to future generations.

Release Info

DKMNTL-SLCTRS03 // Marcel Dettmann
A1 Front 242 – Don’t Crash
A2 Force Dimension – Algorythm (Manipulating Mix)
A3 Executive Slacks – So Mote It Be
B1 Martin Dupont – The Light Goes Through My Mouth
B2 A Thunder Orchestra – Diabolical Gesture (Marcel Dettmann Edit) C1 Twice A Man – Happy Life
C2 Cabaret Voltaire – Low Cool (Marcel Dettmann Edit)
C3 Kaa Antilope – Rise Up Helicopter, Like Bird
D1 Ministry – Same Old Madness
D2 Fad Gadget – Back To Nature

Format: 2×12” LP + CD
Release date: 23 June 2017

About the Author

Loves long walks along the beach, holding hands and romantic 80's power ballads, partial to electronic music and likes to make the odd mix or two.