Review : My Nu Leng pay homage to the bass for Fabriclive

Artist : Various / My Nu Leng
Title : Fabriclive 86
Label : Fabric
Release : 18th March 2016
Pre Order : Here
Genre : Bass Music

Reviewing music might seems like the easiest job in the world, trust me, it isn’t. Ploughing through the reams of garbage means missing little pieces of gold like this new FABRICLIVE CD by My Nu Leng. Growing up down the road from Bristol has given me a rich music heritage, much like the journey this duo have been on, and its been interesting joining the dots between their musical discoveries and mine. Tommy and Jammo, aka My Nu Leng, have stunned critics and fans alike with their diverse and rich output ever since bursting onto the scene. Conscious of their roots in UK bass culture, their re-imagined sound has taken the underground community by storm, as have their energetic and deliberately dark sets. With a sound that offers an insight into grime, dubstep, drum & bass and garage, it is clear that My Nu Leng are firmly rooted in the rich musical heritage of their adopted hometown.

Huge remixes for Naughty Boy’s UK No.1 ‘La La La’, Rudimental’s ‘Right Here’ and Clean Bandit’s ‘Mozart’s House’ have led the duo around the world, showcasing their inimitable hybrid sound to their ever increasing fan base. The duo’s forward-thinking smash record ‘Masterplan,’ was released on trendsetting label Black Butter in 2014 and served as their breakthrough, taking the airwaves by storm and launching the duo into the public consciousness. Now they bring their diverse, incendiary sound to the FABRICLIVE series.

FABRICLIVE 86 serves as homage to the influences that have made My Nu Leng what they are today. With an eclectic mix of underground anthems meshed with new and unreleased material, the album takes the listener through the fascinating and complex workflow of the young duo. With high profile releases on Black Butter and MTA Records to their name, Bristol-based duo and bass music trendsetters My Nu Leng are on the ride of their life.

“We’ve featured a lot of up and coming talent like Andrew Diggs, Deadbeat UK and Holy Goof who have been consistent artists in our club sets, they’re bringing old school bass line vibes in to the new UK Bass world and it really works in our sets. We wanted to include elements of our DJ sets in the mix to showcase all corners of our influences and styles. Fabric is a staple name in world clubbing, and to be part of such an iconic mix series is an honour. We grew up listening to many of the CD’s so are very excited to be showcasing our sound in 2016!” – My Nu Leng 

As you’d expect, the mix is a cauldron of bass, beats and flavours starting out with the pairs own creepy dubstepper – Ruins. Early highlights come from the crazy and grandiose RL Grime – Scylla and groovy as hell Holy Goof – Cheatin’ working in tandem to raise the energy significantly. Not far behind, Skapes – Beat On The Drums also brings new energy with its bouncy bass heaviness and UKG flavours. These is the, dare I say, Speed Garage sounds I grew up with, and its great to hear them again as fresh as they were back in the late 90s.

‘Horizons’ featuring Caan by the boys piques my interest, and I’m excited by the light and dark development of tracks leading up to Clientele’s jaunty jam ’She Knows’. These guys really know when to tease the listener, and when to release the payoff. More than just a straight mix of current bangers, My Nu Leng have reached deep into their personal histories to find tracks which not only define bass music, but nuggets of gold which nurtured their own sonic journeys. Stand outs in this middle section for me were Nu Birth – Anytime (Tuff & Jams Kick Dub) and Faze Miyake Ft. Ina Copeland – Ice Cold.

Now, well and truly warmed up, we move into a tougher section of tracks with Randomer’s gnarly ‘Bring’ leading the charge. Jus Now & T Williams’ breaks inspired ‘YEAH’ ft Dread MC sets up the finale perfectly; energy peaking now. Interestingly the duo decide to drop the pressure over the last few tracks – a delight for me personally – the dub tendencies of L-Wiz ‘Girl from Codeine City’ providing a perfect antithesis to the craziness before.

The Bristol twosome will be touring the mix over the next few months, and on the strength of the album, if this music is your thing, you need to go see them live!

“Our main show is obviously at Fabric, we have a great line up surrounded by a lot of our friends. It means a lot to be able to headline Room 1 – A place where we both have raved in growing up many times. Around the release we also have our ‘My Nu Leng & M8s’ tour which has been amazing so far. And we have 3 weeks in the US and Canada B2B with Oneman in March… We can’t wait!” – My Nu Leng

01 My Nu Leng & Kahn – Ruins [unreleased]
02 Klient – Shelter [Boss Mode]
03 RL Grime – Scylla [WeDidIt]
04 Holy Goof – Cheatin [Four40]
05 Andrew Diggs – The Ghost VIP [Nurvous]
06 Skapes – Beat On The Drums [Eskape Musik]
07 My Nu Leng & Flava D – Soul Shake [unreleased]
08 My Nu Leng feat. Caan – Horizons [MTA]
09 Negativ – Stealth [unreleased]
10 Harry Judda – Machines [This Ain’t Bristol / Phunkfiction]
11 My Nu Leng feat. Detour City – Pushed VIP [MTA]
12 Myd – Número Uno [Bromance]
13 Clientele – She Knows [Tipping Point]
14 Nu-Birth – Anytime (Tuff & Jam’s Kick Dub) [XL]
15 Tru Fonix – NRG [unreleased]
16 Champion – Cannon (Dismantle’s VIP) [Formula]
17 Faze Miyake feat. Inga Copeland – Ice Cold [Rinse]
18 Mella Dee – Keep On [Lobster Boy]
19 WxT – Convo [Materials]
20 Randomer – Bring [Hemlock]
21 Courage – Icarus [Black Butter]
22 Deadbeat UK feat. Forca – Certain Beat [Deadbeat UK]
23 B Squared – Square Root [Second To None]
24 Jus Now x T. Williams feat. Dread MC – Y.E.A.H. [unreleased]
25 Moony – Ballin (Dr Cryptic Funky Roller Mix) [Project Allout]
26 My Nu Leng & FineArt – Set It VIP [MTA]
27 Notion – Massive & Crew [unreleased]
28 SNØW x Dismantle – Messy [unreleased]
29 L-Wiz – Girl From Codeine City [Dub Police]
30 Synth Sense – Tomorrow’s World (Indigo Remix) [Auxiliary]