Octopus Recordings reach the magic 100 releases with a special compilation and series of parties

Irish-born Los Angeles-based Octopus label boss and producer Sian has announced the labels 100th release on the 5th December with their new compilation: OCTOPUS100. The compilation will feature a hand-picked selection of tracks as well as remixed classics from artists including Pleasurekraft, Juheun, Shelley Johannson, Carlo Lio and Loco & Jam to name a few. Octopus will be hosting a series of pop-up events “Octopus100’ in the USA towards the end of the year and into 2017, where they will be focusing on small intimate venues with no more than 100 guests, all these events will be showcasing the best of Octopus roster artists as well as the exclusive merchandise. Early 2017 will see a follow-up series called “Vs” where tracks from Mark Reeve, Gregor Tresher, Julian Jewell and Sian have already been confirmed to be released as support singles.

Skateboarding has always been a hobby for Sian, even more so since his friendship with skating legend, and fellow techno lover; Aaron Jaws Homoki where they developed the concept of combining both elements to co-brand limited edition decks, tanks and limited edition vinyl. Techno tends to have its own outsider underground culture. Skating has the same vibe, so by bringing Aaron into the mix for this collaboration has provided an edgy and diverse punk rock attitude to techno. The idea behind the concept is to show a parallel between the two lifestyles. Both truly indie, self-taught, rebellious, outsider cultures that resulted in self-made careers involving travel and connections to alternatives cultures. Aaron, already big fan of Octopus and the label’s releases over the last few years, made this a natural collaboration, helping to drive techno in a new direction.

01// Sian – Slow Wave
02// Pleasurekraft vs Carlo Lio – Odditorium
03// Ron Costa – Majoren
04// Sian – Information (Cardopusher Remix)
05// Arjan Vagale – Klokwise
06// Daryl Stay – Hidden Agenda
07// Ramiro Lopez – Name Of Silence
08// Sian – Out Is In (Jensen Interceptor Stuck In Mykonos Remix)
09// Jueheun – Trajectory
10// Shelley Johannson – Darkest Hour
11// Loco & Jam – Sacrifice
12// Weska – Maskylene
13// M Fukuda – Cat Grass
14// Mario Ochoa – Kaiju