Orbital announce Optical Delusion UK tour

Pioneering electronic music duo Orbital have today announced an extensive UK & tour to follow the release of their new studio album Optical Delusion, out February 17, 2023 via London Records (pre-order). Orbital’s Optical Delusion UK Tour will kick off on March 28th in Glasgow and culminate in Brighton on April 8th. Stand by for news of Irish dates.

With Optical Delusion, their tenth studio album, Orbital dig deeper into the unquiet psyche of our increasingly surreal and disordered world. Sketched out partly during lockdown but fully recorded in the uncertain After Times, the album summons up conflicting emotions and beguiling images from recent times, when the science fiction doomsdays that the Hartnoll brothers watched on TV as kids finally came true. The album’s lead single, the BBC6 Music playlisted lead single “Dirty Rat”, is an incendiary collaboration with Sleaford Mods whose brilliant video has swiftly racked up half a million views. This week, the band released a second track from Optical Delusion“Ringa Ringa (The Old Pandemic Folk Song)”, in which a classic, cyclical Orbital groove gives way to an unnerving past-meets-present timeslip as goth maenads The Mediaeval Baebes materialise to sing ‘Ring O’Roses’, the innocent nursery rhyme whose roots are in the Black Death.

 The new album is the latest in a burst of renewed post-pandemic creativity for Orbital, who’ve stayed at the top of their game longer than anyone from the post-1988 Class of Acid House. Earlier this year an Orbital thirtieth anniversary package 30 Something – featuring reinterpretations of “Chime”, “Satan”, “Belfast” and more by fans ranging from Jon Hopkins to ANNA to David Holmes, plus studio versions of Orbital live favourites – reintroduced Paul and Phil Hartnoll to a worldwide fanbase.

Orbital Optical Delusion – Track List:
01 Ringa Ringa (The Old Pandemic Folk Song) (feat. The Mediaeval Baebes)
02 Day One (feat. Dina Ipavic)
03 Are You Alive? (feat. Penelope Isles)
04 You Are The Frequency (feat. The Little Pest)
05 The New Abnormal
06 Home (feat. Anna B Savage)
07 Dirty Rat – With Sleaford Mods
08 Requiem For The Pre Apocalypse
09 What A Surprise (feat. The Little Pest)
10 Moon Princess (feat. Coppe)
Release Date: February 17, 2023
Pre-order here

Discover more from Decoded Magazine

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.