Carl Cox and Jon Rundell are set to release the third of their ‘Pure Intec’ compilations

Artists: Carl Cox and Jon Rundell
Title: Pure Intec 3
Label: Intec Digital
Release: 14th November 2016
Genre: Techno

The Ibiza season is over and this year it went out with a big bang. Legend, Carl Cox closed Space, Ibiza and so ending an epic era in the history of electronic music. But the boss is nowhere near quitting music and to kick off the autumn season he presents us two compilations in the ‘Pure Intec’ series, released on his own label Intec Digital along with label partner Jon Rundell. In familiar style, ‘Pure Intec 3’ consists of two mixes, one made up of tracks he carefully picked himself, and one put together by his long term friend Jon. However, when comparing to ‘Pure Intec 2’ that saw the light in 2013, the new mixes give us a completely different concept, providing a new and fresh insight to Intec Digital’s impressive catalogue from the last few years.

Carl reminds us where he comes from and what he stands for through picking a variety of tracks ranging from pieces sounding inspired by acid house, techno with melodic and vocal twists, to the proper and straight forward type earning him his nickname “Champion of Techno.” With him on the musical journey he has chosen to bring a great variety of artists, starting with an incredibly groovy tune by Saeed Younan called ‘Drop It’. This one perfectly melts into Misstress Barbara’s more experimental ‘Don’t Tease Me’. From there the mood is set, leading to tunes such as Matt Sassari & D-Unity’s, ‘Fired Up’ and a track from the queen of techno herself, Nicole Moudaber.

The whole mix is a consistent collection of some of the hardest hitting music seen on Intec Digital the last few years. With a childish excitement, you recognize the straight forward synths of Sidney Charles’ ‘Justice’, the never disappointing and forward driving style of Victor Calderone, or one already close to a legendary remix by Marco Bailey of 999 feat. Amadeas’ track ‘Find The Answer’. Additionally you find the names of label friends and known DJs and producers such as Carlo Lio, Josh Wink, Ramiro Lopez and Drumcomplex (to name a few), before the mix comes to an end with Carl’s very own ‘Your Lights Shine On’, definitely giving a shiver when thinking of the Space Ibiza days.

The second mix is a highly anticipated mastery of music display by Jon Rundell. We all know he is a magnificent puppeteer of music experimenting through having his own very distinct sound that represents a unique character in the music industry. This he manages to showcase in his latest ‘Pure Intec’ mix that leaves you with nothing but an intense feeling of strength. Rundell chose to start the mix with ‘The Path’ by Dosem, giving us a glimpse of his intention to lead us down an intricate path of techno. He aligns a perfect timeline through continuing with The Junkies, ‘Revolution’, Danny Serrano’s wonderfully catchy ‘Paragraphy’, and Carlo Lio’s ‘Escobar Season’.

Doing a small step backward in time, one of the biggest Intec Digital tracks of 2014 follows up an already smashing list. We are talking about no other than Carl Cox’s, ‘Kommen Zusammen’ (Joseph Capriati Remix). In the mix Rundell moves around, bringing great tunes released on Intec Digital to the front again. One after another the tracks seem to bring back good memories such as one of Alex Costa and Fabio Neural’s first and most known releases on this label, ‘Dillinger’, or Christian Valera’s unforgettable track ‘Alarm Waves’. Jon rounds up the mix with his remix for Josh Wink’s track ‘Talking To You’ (Carl’s remix can be found in his mix), which brings a nice closure to a small trip down the memory lane of Intec Digital’s last few years.

We are happy in our certainty that two guys, undeniably essential to electronic music’s progress throughout the years, are continuing their quest to provide us with top notch and to the point techno music. These mixes are just the latest addition and we look forward to seeing what the future brings.

Carl Cox
01. Saeed Younan – Drop It
02. Misstress Barbara – Don’t Tease Me
03. Matt Sassari & D-Unity – Fired Up
04. Kasbah Zoo – Shifted Control
05. Nicole Moudaber – One Day Later
06. Jon Rundell – Utopia
07. Harvey Mackay – Wrong Turn (Gero Jansen Remix)
08. Sidney Charles – Justice
09. Steve Mulder – Kusesai
10. Victor Calderone – Mole
11. 999 feat Amadeas – Find The Answer (Marco Bailey Remix)
12. Carlo Lio – Love Nation
13. Copy Paste Soul – CTRL
14. Josh Wink – Talking To You (Carl Cox Remix)
15. Ramiro Lopez feat Thomas Gandey – Revolution Space
16. Drumcomplex & Roel Salemink – Awake
17. Carl Cox – Your Light Shines On

Jon Rundell
01. Dosem – The Path
02. The Junkies – Revolution
03. Harvey McKay – Something Good
04. Danny Serrano – Paragraphy
05. Carlo Lio – Escobar Season
06. Carl Cox – Kommen Zusammen (Joseph Capriati Remix)
07. Stephan Hinz & Philipp Ruhmhardt – Kachel
08. Ian O Donovan – Gauntlet
09. Tomy DeClerque – Restart
10. DJ Jock – Raw Love
11. Fabio Neural & Alex Costa – Dillinger
12. Cristian Varela – Alarm Waves
13. Jon Rundell – Mind
14. Josh Wink – Talking To You (Jon Rundell Remix)

About the Author

Living, loving and breathing music, Betty, or Beth Lydi, has immersed herself completely in all the areas of electronic music. Running her own label at the same time as managing some of the biggest labels in the industry, travelling the world as a DJ, and writing about music for well-known magazines within the scene, the born Norwegian does exactly what she loves. Based in Berlin, she is a workaholic with a butterfly image.