Robert Hood announces Paradygm Shift album on Dekmantel

One of the most prominent and outstanding techno craftsmen of our generation returns to his roots with Paradygm Shift; the first Robert Hood album to be released since 2012 on Dekmantel Records. The LP serves as a milestone for the Dutch imprint as it marks their 50th release and drops on May 22.

Paradygm Shift is the return to the distinguished style that defined Hood’s music in the early 90s, and is the culmination of a three EP series. It is the older and more mature brother to his classic Minimal Nation, highlighting his more evolved, technical craftsmanship. “The idea behind it is just a shift in our focus. We can become complacent; we are so comfortable with our surroundings. I think this is the time for electronic music to find a new mindset”, says Hood about his concept. “I felt it was necessary to reiterate as an electronic music artist who is bringing minimalism back in the forefront, and not to get lost in the melody. I want to get back to the simple repetitive programming that I’m known for, and to me it was returning to that and shifting the listeners’ focus.”

His Paradygm Shift warms up into a rolling hypnotic, succession of pious rhythms that make up ‘Idea’. The orthodox template never brakes, but evolves as the album proceeds. It is beholden of a man born of playful discipline. ‘Solid Thought’ points to a heightened sense of purity, ‘Magnet’ is unabashed and unflinching in its ruthlessness, while ‘Pneuma’ reflects his soulful side. As the record draws to a close, penultimate track ‘Pattern 8’ plays out as a beautifully synthesized, hymn that points towards to an earlier period of machine-driven, soul music.

Since DJing for the Dekmantel crew in 2010, Hood has been a regular fixture ever since. His new record is the perfect marriage, cementing the Detroit-Dutch relationship further. Overall, Paradym Shift is an album of delicately orchestrated techno that is quintessentially minimal in focus, and grandiose in sound, juxtaposed with electronic funk, wrapped up in blisteringly urgent, and honest, pulsating techno.

Track list
A1. Robert Hood – Preface
A2. Robert Hood – Idea
A3. Robert Hood – I Am
B1. Robert Hood – Solid Thought
B2. Robert Hood – Nephesh
C1. Robert Hood – Pneuma
C2. Robert Hood – Pattern 8
D1. Robert Hood – Thought Process
D2. Robert Hood – Lockers (Extended)