Sleep D collaborate with Melbourne mixed chamber ensemble Ad Lib Collective

Play On Records present Flashed Glass, a new record from Melbourne electronic duo Sleep D and mixed chamber ensemble Ad Lib Collective. Culminating from a two-year project borne out of a live collaboration in a Melbourne underground carpark, the LP marries the euphoria of the concert hall and the club, presenting a rich sonic universe for the listener to discover. 

Having first been introduced at rehearsals for Play On’s 6th series in late 2018, the two groups hit it off, opting to perform a semi-improvised set together, rather than two separate sets as originally planned. They soon realised their pairing could unlock sounds they wouldn’t have otherwise found on their own, and their idea for further collaboration was born. 

Because Flashed Glass didn’t use formal notation in the creation process, this resulted in charts and maps to plot out each track. This influenced the artists’ sonic interpretations of vast open spaces, dystopian landscapes and expansive journeys. What’s culminated is a record that combines spacious, repetitive, ambient electronica with the gentle, lilting woodwinds, strings and acoustic percussion of modern classical. 

In March 2020, the two groups recorded at Head Gap studios in Preston — layering sounds, building melodies, and striking out what didn’t work — until the COVID-19 pandemic cut things short, twice, due to Melbourne’s dual lockdowns. This resulted in an accidental hybrid work, finishing as a mix of live professional recordings, and DIY home-recorded samples, with the latter including crushed plastic and pulverised sea shells. 

The album will be preceded by the release of opening track ‘Cavern’ as a digital single, available from Thursday 25 March 2021. It marks the first release of Play On Records, a Melbourne-based label exploring the intersection of acoustic and electronic music. 

01 Cavern
02 Enclave
03 Canyon
04 Lagoon
05 Chambers
06 Shelter

Sleep D is: Corey Kikos & Maryos Syawish – electronics. 

Ad Lib Collective is: Thea Rossen – percussion, Jesse Deane – saxophones, Jared Yapp -viola & synthesiser, Hamish Upton – percussion, Zela Papageorgiou -percussion, Ben Opie – oboe. 

Discover more from Decoded Magazine

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Avatar photo
About the Author

Loves long walks along the beach, holding hands and romantic 80's power ballads, partial to electronic music and likes to make the odd mix or two.