Sonny delights for Defected’s ‘In The House’

Artist : Various / Sonny Fodera
Title : In The House
Label : Defected
Release : 29th January 2016
Genre : House

From way back in the mid 90s, I’ve alway had a soft spot for UK house label Defected (AM:PM back in the day). As a working DJ covering a lot of pub/bar gigs it was my first go to label for classy house sounds, and remains today, a source of quality music. Imagine if you will, the delight I felt at being given the opportunity to review this new edition of the incredible ‘In The House’ series. Everyone from Martin Solvieg to Loco Dice and Bob Sinclar have compiled a CD for this series which started in ernest back in 2001. In recent years Nick Curly, Nic Fanciulli and MK have added to that legacy, and now its the turn of new family member Sonny Fodera

As anyone who has been to one of his shows anywhere in the world will attest, Sonny Fodera is a dance music superstar. In the last year he played Amnesia no fewer than six times, headlined club and festivals on most major continents, released his music on Defected, Visionquest and Dirtybird including a Beatport Top 20 and two Beatport Deep House Top 10s. As well as his solo works, Sonny has put out massive hits with Chicago legends Green Velvet and Gene Farris and added his own spin on a massive remix of Rudimental.

It was truly amazing to be asked by Defected to do this compilation, I believe it is a massive achievement in my career, will be my first compilation released physically too. I have done a few but they have only been out as digital download. I wanted to incorporate my live DJ sets in the mix along with some tracks I wouldn’t normally play out.

The aim was that you can listen to this mix in the car, before you go out, the after party or even at the house with some friends over on a Saturday afternoon, that was the aim anyway! I licensed tracks that were really working for me, mixing and crowd reaction wise. I had about 60 tracks in a track pool and narrowed it right down to 30 tracks. The second mix was definitely harder to put together but I feel like it is my favourite mix on the compilation. – Sonny Fodera

Over the three discs, Sonny takes us on wild ride through the spectrum of house music. From dubby tech like the bumpty bump of Martin Ikin & Low Steppa feat. Elisabeth Troy – About Time (featuring the iconic vocal from Hard Drives’ Deep Inside resung by the talented Ms Troy) to amazing singalong moments like the inspired mash up of Dale Howard’s Vacant with the acapella from Eats Everything et al – Dancing (Again!). In fact, those little touches and nuanced performance skills which only really House DJs seem to do, are littered through out the mix and really bring it alive. Disc one is a very solid peak time mix with many highlights, but the moments that stood out for me were the mash up mentioned, Doorly’s piano led monster remix of Mario Cruz – Little Thing and the dirty bass sounds of Sonny’s collaboration with Gene Farris – We Work It.

Largely a collection of all things Sonny Fodera, its very easy to see why he is regarded as such a consistent and prolific producer. Some are remixes with Mat.Joe, more than a few are cuts from his much anticipated second album and some are exclusive edits. Along the way Sonny works with talented new school vocal stars like Alex Mills, Joe Le Groove and Shannon Saunders and proves with his many remixes that he is just as great at adding his own stamp on the work of others as he is at conjuring up fresh beats of his own.

Where disc one was a mix of fresh new material, disc two focuses on influences such as label mate Franky Rizardo, Seven Davis Jr from Classic, and DirtyBird boss Claude Vonstroke. Again, its the track-y records with acapella laid over them that impress me the most, I simply haven’t heard the technique used for such a long time, and it was one of my favourite things to do. Here big names like Tim Deluxe rub shoulders with less established names like Josh Butler, Click Click and Emanuel Satie. Highlights include the brilliant Rudimental remix, the tribal groove of House nation in its Riva Starr guise, and the wonky Make a Cake by Claude Vonstroke. Disc three is a collection of Sonny’s older tracks only, which gives further scope and adds to the class of the first two CDs.

I feel some mixes out there these days are very sterile, too perfect, I wanted to incorporate the way I actually play out in this mix. I don’t think the new generation really do apply enough effects on DJ mixes, because when you hear them out live it’s a totally different story there is lots reverb and echo. It is very satisfying! This leads to how I got signed by the label. Simon really loves my stuff on Cajual and the early stuff on Guesthouse even, which is great.

It was nice to put some of my older tracks on the third CD, I think this will give my new listeners a chance to check out my older stuff. I really wanted to put Julio Bashmore “Holding On” on it but I think there were some issues with the sample, also Midland “Double Feature” – I think it was a similar kind of issue. But apart from that it was a very smooth process. – Sonny Fodera

Sonny Fodera In The House is a positive and forthright statement of artistic intent from the young Australian, and serves as both as welcome reminder of his talents to those who already know, as well as a great introduction for anyone new to the world of House music.


CD 1
01. Gershon Jackson – Take It Easy (Sonny Fodera & Mat.Joe Remix)
02. Sonny Fodera – Invisible
Mystic Bill – U Won’t C Me (Accapella)
03. Sonny Fodera feat. Alex Mills – Always Gonna Be
04. Sonny Fodera feat. Shannon Saunders – Over This
05. Martin Ikin & Low Steppa feat. Elisabeth Troy – About Time
06. Sonny Fodera – The Definition
Little by Little – Bang The Box (Accapella)
07. Dale Howard – Vacant
Eats Everything feat. Tiga vs Audion & Ron Costa – Dancing (Again!) (Original Mix)
08. Sonny Fodera – Shake
09. Catz ‘N Dogz – Get It Right (Claude VonStroke Remix)
Sonny Fodera & Cajmere – Off On
10. Fernando Campo – Kin Kirby (Original Mix)
11. Mario Cruz – Little Thing (Doorly Remix)
12. Sonny Fodera – Go Get It (VIP Mix)
13. Sonny Fodera & Gene Farris – We Work It
14. Will Clarke – Turn It Up (Original Mix)
15. Tom Misch feat. Zak Abel – Beautiful Escape

01. Sonny Fodera & James Shoji feat. Janai – All The Reasons
02. Rudimental feat. Will Heard – I Will For Love (Sonny Fodera Remix)
03. Click Click – This Is Soul
04. Sonny Fodera – OCD
Mark Fanciulli feat. Joe Le Groove – Control (Accapella)
05. Mat.Joe – Swipe The Card (Original Mix)
06. Sonny Fodera feat. Yasmin – Feeling U (Deep Mix)
07. Janet Rushmore – Joy (Sonny Fodera Deep Mix)
08. DJ Roland Clark & Sante Sansone – House Nation (Riva Starr Edit)
09. Tim Deluxe – Feelings (Ice Cream Dub)
10. Seven Davis Jr. – Friends (Detroit Swindle Friends On Acid Remix)
11. Emanuel Satie – Your Body
12. Franky Rizardo – Keep My Cool
13. Claude VonStroke – Make A Cake
14. Josh Butler feat. Lono Brazil – The Essence Of House Music (Dario D’Attis Remix)
15. VRRS – Need Luv
Sole Fusion – Bass Tone (House Nation Mix)

01. Sonny Fodera & Cervendos feat. Lauren Faith – High
02. Sonny Fodera – Putting It Down
03. Sonny Fodera & Cervendos – Let’s Go
04. GotSome – Just A Feeling (Sonny Fodera Remix)
05. Sonny Fodera – Where You At
06. Bontan & Sonny Fodera – Want To Know
07. Sonny Fodera & Cajmere – Show You
08. Sonny Fodera feat. Amber Jolene – Hold It Down
09. Sonny Fodera – Trainsurfing
10. Sonny Fodera – People Forget (Original Mix)
11. NiCe7 – Time To Get Physical (Sonny Fodera Remix)
12. Harrison Crump feat. Tierra Nevaeh – No More Lies (Sonny Fodera Vocal)