Following the sensational success of last years first ‘Spirits’ compilation, Crosstown Rebels are back with volume 2

Following the sensational success of last years first Spirits compilation, Crosstown Rebels are back with volume 2. Expect “battle weapons galore” as Damian Lazarus unleashes eleven tracks upon us that have been the biggest hits from his sets over the past year. Bathe yourself in a sonic soundscape that commands you to, as the man himself says, “play it loud”.

The second album opens up with the seductive rhythm of Jenia Tarsol & Jinga with their offering, ‘Jimjum’. This flows effortlessly into DAVÍ’s ‘Without My Ways’, with equally seductive percussion and a hypnotic bassline. Next is the turn of Yulia Niko. ’67 Days’ brings with it a bouncier bassline that bleeds into the uplifting synth section and its vocal hook that hints at the bygone era of house music. Nick Curly’s ‘Maelstrom’ provides a darker, driving twist with a pulsating beat.

The legendary Yousef delivers ‘Heartbeat’, a masterful track that perfectly balances light and dark, complete with euphoric strings. Jonas Rathsman brings his tantalising touch to the proceedings next with ‘Lost Youth’. Its mystical tribal vocal sample and spiralling percussion glides into the Amazonian beats of Doorly & Tan Dem, who sample tropical birdsong on their offering, with a blistering piano breakdown.

Zotar aka Kenny Glasgow’s ‘CIRCLE OF FEAR’ is pure after-hours hedonism. A throbbing beat drives the track forward with its enticing male vocal. Bartolomeo gifts us with a weighty number that utilises glitchy undertones on ‘Celeste’. Emanuel Satie conceives a bumpy, rolling addition to add to the compilation with ‘Fade’, enlisting the divine and soulful vocal talents of Nanghiti. Closing the EP is the enticing ‘Child Of The Fire’ from the Russian-born electronic live act, Tantsui. The delicate and dreamy number is the perfect antidote to the fire of the compilation with its mesmerising vocal.

Relative newcomers Jenia Tarsol and Jinga are no strangers to collaborating together having remixed for a number of high-profile releases including Magit Cacoon’s Perfect Life. Trained at the prestigious Komitas State Conservatory in his homeland of Armenia, it was a move to the glittering lights of LA that saw DAVÍ make the move into electronic music and it wasn’t long until he caught the attention of Damian Lazarus, who signed three of his EPs including Two Suns In the Sky, Gates Of Babylon and Metropolis . Russian-born Yulia Niko, owner of vinyl-only imprint TochnoTechno, has seen her star ascend rapidly. She’s played alongside some of the scene’s most respected DJs including Erick Morillo, Pig&Dan and has released on influential outlets such as Get Physical, Hottrax, Rebellion and Baile Music. Nick Curly needs little introduction having been a staple in the industry for more than a decade. Over this time, he’s honed his signature sound and founded not one, but two, highly successful labels including 8bit and Cecille Records, as well as appearing at some of the world’s most esteemed clubs including Ministry Of Sound, TimeWarp and Warung Beach Club.

Founder of the award-winning club night, Circus, Yousef has amassed over 20 years in the business. His highly successful career has seen him create a staggering 8 coveted Radio 1 Essential Mixes and has seen him inducted into the Radio 1 Hall Of Fame alongside heavyweights such as Sven Vath, Dixon, Richie Hawtin and Solomun. Having been crowned the “Future Star of 2013” by revered Radio 1 tastemaker Pete Tong, Jonas Rathsman’s rise to the top has been nothing short of meteoric. During this time he has established his own ELEMENTS brand that encompasses a mix series, parties and a label, as well as output on respected imprints such as MOBILEE, Complex and KX. Also once touted as a Future Star by Pete Tong, Doorly has an impressive back catalogue that takes in labels such as Cajual, Toolroom and Hot Creations. Well respected amongst his peers for his ability behind the decks, he is also a highly sort after producer and remixer, adding his unique touch to tracks from some big names such as Kanye West, The Prodigy and Basement Jaxx. Rising star Tan Dem has been closing mentored by Doorly over the past two years, having released records together on Doorly’s own imprint Reptile Disfunction.

Zotar is better known by his real-life alias of Kenny Glasgow. Returning to his solo roots after a healthy stint as part of the famed Art Department, Glasgow has racked up hits on the likes of My Favourite Robot and Hot Creations and has provided remixes for crucial labels including Strictly Rhythm and Azuli. A classical musician by trade, the influence of this genre can be seen in much of the productions of Italian Bartolomeo. This influence transfers to his DJ performances that strike the perfect balance between classical and modern electronic music. Emanuel Satie first came to the attention of the dance arena in 2016 with his rework of Late Nite Tuff Guy’s remix of I Get Deep. Since then he’s won the Best Producer award in the DJ Awards and had a string of releases signed to impressive imprints including; Saved Records, Moon Harbour and Knee Deep In Sound. Moscow-born, electronic live-act Tantsui is the creation of Ramzes Akhmetov.

Having released on Get Physical and Highway Records, the debut album, UNBOUND, is set to drop soon on Russian imprint NOPASSPORT. Damian Lazarus has also commissioned four short films to run alongside the album made by award-winning director and Crosstown collaborator Roger Spy. There will also be two launch parties that will take place 23rd November in Berlin and the 24th November in Warsaw, including; Damian Lazarus, Jonas Rathsman, Yulia Niko, Bartolomeo, Brina Knauss and Floyd Levine amongst others.

01. Jenia Tarsol & Jinga – Jimjum
02. DAVI – Without My Ways
03. Yulia Niko – 67 Days
04. Nick Curly – Maelstrom
05. Yousef – Heartbeat
06. Jonas Rathsman – Lost Youth
07. Doorly & Tan Dem – Awooo
08. Zotar AKA Kenny Glasgow – CIRCLE OF FEAR
09. Bartolomeo – Celeste
10. Emanuel Satie feat. Nanghiti – Fade
11. Tantsui – Child Of The Fire

Crosstown Rebels present Spirits II is released 23rd November 2018.

About the author

Director and DJ, Ian French (Naif) is passionate about every genre of music from Breakbeat, to Drum & Bass, to Techno and Progressive House. If he was to describe his preferred style of music he would probably describe it simply as electronic music. Besides his love for music and DJing his other passions are fine cuisine, wine, and travel.