Tim Deluxe goes back to the source with jazz-influenced The Radicle, his first studio album for 5 years

“This is a mass culture we live in. It makes you act like something you really aren’t. It made me so narrow that I couldn’t really do myself justice so I broke away from that whole modern dance thing. I want to be me, I want to be human.”

Doctor Barbara Ann Teer’s words on The Radicle’s opening jam ‘JAS’ may have been lifted from an old Folkways record, but that doesn’t make the sentiment any less prescient. In fact, these words could have been said by Tim himself in reference to the spirit and ideology of The Radicle, only his third ever artist album to date.

Released 30 October on the seminal Strictly Rhythm label, the album is vastly different from the majority of electronic albums out there. It has a decidedly soulful, blues-y feel and instead of the ‘here’s ten club tracks, will this do’ approach, Tim took his time and immersed himself completely into the record, surrounding himself with some of the best contemporary jazz musicians around, including Jim Mullen (guitar), Rod Youngs and Enzo Zirilli (drums), Pete Wareham (sax), Jay Phelps (trumpet), John Donaldson (piano) and Ben Hazleton (bass).

The Radicle was born out of a pure love of real instruments and instrumentation and a desire to return to the source. “Working with musicians really inspired me again” comments Tim. “I started having piano lessons once a week with my teacher Cherry and started reconnecting directly with the music via the instrument, rather than going out and clubbing, I was listening to old jazz records. With The Radicle I really had the vision about what I wanted to achieve.”

It’s a proper musical trip. And in keeping with the spirit of the record, the look and feel of the actual album reflects that authenticity, with the first promo shoot location being infamous East End boozer The Clapton Heart, where many of the shots were taken on a Rolleiflex film camera, cementing the consistency between analogue production and the photos themselves.

The Radicle is a nine track sonic adventure with ideas bursting from every kick and lick. There’s even a cover of the Miles Davis classic ‘So What!’ which bends the trumpet classic into new forms while ‘SHANTI’ explores a more mystical, Indian vibe with a sax solo John Coltrane would be proud of. There are no synthesizers or electronics on the record: in some respects, it’s also a reaction against the electronic world.

The album will be preceded by three singles: ‘Tryin’ Find a Way’ (24 August), ‘Feelings’ (12 October) and ‘LOVE Is’, which will come out exclusively on 7” vinyl (24 August).

Tim Deluxe The Radicle is out 30 October 2015 (2LP, CD and digital) on Strictly Rhythm
CD pre-order: http://bit.ly/1LmAMFt
Vinyl pre-order: http://bit.ly/1Sz9qer


Tracklist (CD and digital)

01. Tim Deluxe – JAS
02. Tim Deluxe – Feelings
03. Tim Deluxe – Captain, Captain
04. Tim Deluxe – LOVE is
05. Tim Deluxe – Unsung Hero
06. Tim Deluxe – Dah Dance
07. Tim Deluxe – So What!
08. Tim Deluxe – Tryin’ Find A Way
09. Tim Deluxe – Shanti

Tracklist (vinyl)

A1. Tim Deluxe – JAS
A2. Tim Deluxe – Feelings
A3. Tim Deluxe – LOVE is
B1. Tim Deluxe – Captain, Captain
B2. Tim Deluxe – Unsung Hero
B3. Tim Deluxe – So What!
C1. Tim Deluxe – Dah Dance
C2. Tim Deluxe – Spirals Pt. 1 + 2
D1. Tim Deluxe – Tryin’ Find A Way
D2. Tim Deluxe – Shanti

About the Author

Loves long walks along the beach, holding hands and romantic 80's power ballads, partial to electronic music and likes to make the odd mix or two.