TIP099 – Robert Van Ryn

Robert Van Ryn spent the late nineties through to 2005 touring the length and breadth of the UK and Europe including summers spent on the sun drenched isles of Corfu, Cyprus, Crete, and Ibiza, most notably as one of the four resident tour DJ’s for the award winning Euphoria album series. In 2005 he made a puzzling decision to hang up his headphones and turn his back on the industry he was rapidly becoming known figure within; his ability to work a crowd had been much noted by his peers within the industry. His infectious appetite for the music he loved was apparent to all that experienced him DJ and had cemented the growing reputation that surrounded the larger than life character.

Fast forward to late 2011 and the headphones were dusted off, the studio flickered into life, and the big fella’s passion reignited with the music he loves!

Since early 2012 Robert has once again become a firm player in the trance scene having linked up with a good friend to form the DJ/Production duo ‘Protrapik’.

The pair has cemented themselves firmly in the scene with much revered appearances including multiple appearances at both Ministry of Sound and Slinky alongside household names such as global superstar Paul Van Dyk, Gareth Emery, Judge Jules and Radio 1’s Simon Patterson. Guest mixes have been used by both Sneijder and James Dymond on their worldwide AH.FM shows.

As a solo DJ/Producer Robert is forging a name for himself playing a blend of tech house and techno with serious groove, across the South West to great acclaim, and has recently become a resident one of Bristol’s largest monthly underground nights, WERK. Recent nights have seen Robert supporting legendary names such as Colin Dale and Trevor Rockcliffe.

Aside from his residency Robert is a regular guest at a number of nights across the South West, including nights such as Sound, 4 To The Floor, Bristol Love, Fluctuate and TFTD.

To quote a couple of promoter’s following recent gigs….

“We make absolutely no apologies for having this man back a mere 7 days after his last appearance for Bristol Love! Those who were there witnessed a set filled with some of the biggest and best tech house tunes with inducing madness on the dance floor. Expect nothing more than awesome and you shall not be disappointed” (Bristol Love, Dojos, Bristol – Nov 2012)

“Genuinely one the most enjoyable sets I’ve heard for a while, loads of big tunes, and I barely recognised any, this man knows his way around the kind of tracks that lifts the roof off the house. His sets here have constantly been nothing short of spectacular – guaranteed good vibes from a true party player.” (4 To The Floor – May 2013)

Currently busy in the studio alongside his busy DJ diary has seen Robert working on a number of projects, and a couple of tracks over the last few months have picked up great support.

With a busy diary for the remainder of 2013 including a number of international dates, Robert has well and truly blown the dust of his headphones, and once again establishing himself back where he left off.

01// Justin Martin & Eats Everything – Harpy [Hypercolour]
02// Marco Bailey, Nick Muir & John Digweed – Red Tape [Bedrock Records]
03// Alex Marcu – All I Need [Click Muziq Recordings]
04// Loko – Rollercoaster [Great Stuff Recordings]
05// Sam Paganini – Black Leather [Drumcode]
06// Matt Sassari – Sir Awful [Deeperfect Records]
07// Diego Quintero & Miguel Bastida – Penthaus [Natura Viva]
08// Candy Cain – Mexico Trip [Zero Urban Records]
09// Adrian Hour – Runaway [Suara]
10// Fabio Neural – Kosheen [SCI+TEC]
11// Adoo – Take Me Home [Leap4rog Music]
12// Inner City – Good Life (Pig & Dan Less is More Dub) [KMS Records]
13// Mihai Popoviciu – Transitions (Bootleg Mix) [Bla Bla]
14// D-Unity – Pressure [Unity Records]
15// Mattch – Creep [Digital Rythym Music]
16// Pig & Dan – Let The Show Begin [Bedrock Records]
17// Citizen Kain & Phuture Traxx – I Want You [BluFin]
18// Stefano Noferini – You Can Do It [Deeperfect Records]
19// T.Tommy – Lokotoco [Tormenta Records]
20// Ant Brooks – Min [Freshin]
21// Oscar L – This House Is Mine [1605]
22// Optimuss – Waking [1605]
23// Raul Mezcolanza – Try To Do It [Suara]