Video Premiere – Yarni – Golden Gai (ft Jonoa & Rachel Shirley)

With a background playing in bands, Yarni has an ability to give his music that human touch and soul absent in other electronic music productions. This is exactly what attracted major support from the likes of Andrew Weatherall (“amazing artist”), DJ Harvey (“this album is amazing”) and BBC 6 Music’s Nemone (“absolutely sublime”). One million streams and a Beatport top 10 later, Yarni finds himself ready to keep pushing forward.

Influences from classic electronic music help Yarni to create accessible tracks. But what gives his music a truly unique flavour is his ever-inquisitive mind, and the need to discover music old and new. His latest work on his second long-player ‘Boro’ touches on spiritual jazz, rock and disco, with Yarni the common thread that holds it all together. Boro’ is taken from the Japanese word for patchwork textiles, and the idea of patching things together is the foundation of the second concept album from music maker Yarni.

The release showcases Yarni’s ambition to keep moving forward musically, touching on diverse influences from jazz, funk, rock and electronica.

The album’s concept comes from Yarni’s first trip to Japan. The musician was fascinated by the way the Japanese hold onto their traditions and embrace super-futuristic ideas at the same time.

That combination of old and new flowed into the album’s creation. Yarni enrolled some local jazz musicians to contribute to the album’s live feel, while he played several traditional instruments himself. These sounds were blended with a futuristic synthesis to produce something that feels fresh and exciting in 2021.

This is a record that represents Yarni’s broad palette of inspirations. It’s accessible to listen to, touching on many genres without ever going too far left-field. This isn’t an album to alienate listeners, it’s one to unite them.

Track Listing:
01. Insempo ft Jonoa
02. Go-Shi ft Jonoa
03. Shibori
04. Ogane
05. Golden Gai ft Jonoa & Rachel Shirley
06. Shibui
07. Kako ft Rachel Shirley
08. Purezento ft Jonoa
09. Aizome
10. Sashiko ft Jonoa & Rachel Shirley
11. Mira ft Ben Marks

You can buy/stream the single, “Golden Gai ft Jonoa & Rachel Shirley” here

Discover more from Decoded Magazine

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Avatar photo
About the Author

Director and DJ, Ian French (Naif) is passionate about many genres of music from Breakbeat and Drum & Bass to Techno and Electronica. A man that lives in a world of bass and beats, Ian is an obsessive collector of music and a true geek at heart, with many years spent in application design.