Reincarnations 002 – Dale Middleton review

Artist : Dale Middleton
Title : Reincarnations 2
Label : Sex on Wax
Release : 16th March 2015
Cat No : SRE002
Genre : Progressive House

After the first Reincarnations mix with Arnas D, I was very excited to see this little beauty land in my promo inbox this week. As you may recall from last time, the “Reincarnations” album series is the creative endeavour of Omid 16B, with the aim of selectively guiding some of the scene’s most exciting, new DJ/Producers towards offering an interactive mergence of art, music and self expression.This is very much an album of pure intent, designed to show the listener just how art and music can co-exist.

Now, I’ll let you in to a little secret. I knew about this album last summer, I was hanging out with Dale in Holland for a gig he was doing there and over some beers we got chatting. I’m very glad its finally arrived, Dale Middleton is undoubtedly one of the UK’s fastest rising stars on the global electronic music scene, and has developed his own style within the Progressive House and Techno musical blueprints. Together with his distinctive blend of DJing, his productions are some of the most exciting music around. Dale has the ability to always bring something special to the party and his monthly Subsidence Sounds radio show on Frisky has further increased global awareness of his unique talents.

Dale has an innate ability to cleverly arrange disparate melodic elements into a joyous cohesive whole, and this is no exception. Starting slow with a specially arranged intro mix of Engage, we dive deep into the realms of melodica. From here on, Dale charts a course through some of the finest moments of aLOLa & Sex on Wax to create a peerless selection of electronic gems.

Forgotten masterpieces like Kevin Di Serna’s summer inspired remix of ‘Free’ by Omid 16B sit resplendent next to the groovy ‘On/Off’ and a Arnos D inspired ‘Freedom’ by Memory (a personal highlight for me). Theres also a selection of Dales original works in there too, some especially for the album like the attention grabbing ‘Thorn in my Side’ the tough saw toothed bass groove of ‘Copper Top’. As well as modern sounds, Dale has dug deep into his own past with the inclusion of Danny Howells classic track ‘Spikes’ and ‘Best Things in a Very Short Time’ by his DJ heroes SOS.

“I first saw SOS play back in 2008, so when I was kindly asked to compile this album project I knew I wanted at least one SOS track to be part of it. This one stands out to me as it’s got such a cool feel and still sounds great dropped into the mix today.” – Dale Middleton

Keeping on the tougher side of things, Dale rounds out the album in fine form with an brilliant Alex George remix of Vanilla Ace’s monstrous ‘Cascading’, Omids unique take on Anime Edge & DANCE’s ‘I Lost My Neck’ and another classic from an era of beautiful melodic tech house; Vince Watson’s enormous ‘Mystical Rhythm’, here in its Mr C guise. The ambient outro – Disembark adds another level of sophistication to an already sonically vibrant mix, and I’m kinda sad it had to end.

This, like the first instalment is a must for music fans who want a mix album which focuses solely on the music and doesn’t pander to the ego of the DJ. This is dance music by dance fans for everyone to enjoy.

01. Dale Middleton – Engage (Original Intro Mix)
02. Omid 16B – Free (Kevin Di Serna feat. Aless Remix)
04. Memory – Freedom
03. Omid 16B – On & Off
04. Memory – Freedom
05. Dale Middleton – So Much More
06. Rodriguez & John Cosani – Locked Groove (Arnas D Remix)
07. Dale Middleton – Thorn In My Side
08. Dale Middleton – Audit & Purge
09. Dale Middleton – Copper Top
10. Danny Howells – Spikes
11. Dale Middleton – Vertex
12. Dale Middleton – Offset
13. Dale Middleton – Eggos
14. SOS – Best Things In A Very Short Time
15. Vanilla Ace – Cascading (Alex George Remix)
16. Amine Edge & DANCE – I Lost My Neck (Omid 16B Remix)
17. Vince Watson – Mystical Rhythm (Mr C Remix)
18. Dale Middleton – Disembark (Outro Tool)